![]() |
|
|
|||
Really? Are you being realistic now? How many times have you seen a player dribbling on the move do this?
A player doing what the OP is doing is either going to shoot, pass, or travel. He is not going to stop on a dime. And if the player is fouled after stopping the dribble and before travelling then we as official need to judge whether he was shooting or passing. Way too often, IMO, HS officials want to make a point (often theactrically) of calling the foul "on the floor" or "before the shot" without any regard at all to continous motion or habitual throwing movement. See the whole play.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
It happens. The majority of the time? no But it happens.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Score the Basket!!!! ![]() |
|
|||
Actually all 3 codes are very similar
1. Straight out of the HS rule book:
SECTION 11 CONTINUOUS MOTION ART.1...Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals and free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by the defense during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight. ART.2...If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. 2. Straight out of the NCAA rule book: SECTION 14. Continuous Motion Continuous motion applies to a try or tap for field goals or free throws, but it has no significance unless there is a foul by the defense during the interval which begins when the habitual throwing movement starts a try or with the touching on a tap and ends when the ball is clearly in flight. 3. Straight out of the NBA Casebook: RULE 4 - SECTION XI 46. Player A1 is fouled just as he is completing his dribble and gathering the ball. If he continues his shooting motion and scores a successful basket, how many free throws are awarded? Since the player’s shooting motion continued and he was fouled upon gathering the ball, the basket shall count and Player A1 will receive one free throw attempt. |
|
|||
Quote:
One time, after a coach was whining to me about my partner's call, I told him that the rule is the same whether it's the NBA, college, or high school. He was incredulous. ![]()
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Shooting FTs? | BktBallRef | Basketball | 1 | Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:43pm |
shooting or not shooting | tmuckel | Basketball | 10 | Mon Nov 06, 2006 08:58am |
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? | brightstripes54 | Basketball | 10 | Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm |
shooting a | Gmoore | Basketball | 18 | Fri Dec 12, 2003 03:38pm |
Act of shooting | ROMANO | Basketball | 39 | Wed Jan 08, 2003 02:14pm |