The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 11:13am
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Act of shooting

Mens wreck last night:

A1 dribbles the length of the court & immediately upon gathering the ball at the FT line, B1 fouls A1 (tweet). A1 takes 2 steps & misses the shot.

I say A1 shoots 2 FTs my more veteran partners say “he wasn’t in the act” when the foul occurred.
Thoughts??

Why is it soooooo difficult for us as officials to understand that once the ball is gathered on a drive to the bucket, that’s when the act of shooting begins… unless he passes the ball. That's one of the reasons we should have a patient whistle on North/South plays. So many of us say “that’s NBA”.
Isn’t the rule the same in all 3 codes???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
my pet peeve

IMHO, continuous motion is one of the most frequently miscalled plays in all officialdom, present company excluded....
I believe our dear friend Jurassic had a noteworthy observation: Instead of trying to discern when the habitual motion begins, first focus on when the dribble stops, the next logical action is a pass or shot. It always seems much clearer from this perspective.

On the floor ???!!!xsh)-%$!~ is not a proper verbalization in this circumstance.

In my coaching days I was often heard to ask "When did the foul occur?", where is inconsequential.

/rant off
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 12:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I counted a shot this year just like this, one FT. I could have gone with the X, but chose not to.

The coach complained about the shot counting. I should have gone with the X.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I counted a shot this year just like this, one FT. I could have gone with the X, but chose not to.

The coach complained about the shot counting. I should have gone with the X.
Are we to assume the shot went in the basket?

X=Intentional?
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 05:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
Are we to assume the shot went in the basket?

X=Intentional?
Yes, the ball went in. Yes, X = intentional.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 08:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,333
Continuous Motion ...

Continuous Motion: If an opponent fouls after a player has started a try for goal, he/she is permitted to complete the customary arm movement, and if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. These privileges are granted only when the usual throwing motion has started before the foul occurs and before the ball is in flight.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 01:31pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Mens wreck last night:

A1 dribbles the length of the court & immediately upon gathering the ball at the FT line, B1 fouls A1 (tweet). A1 takes 2 steps & misses the shot.

I say A1 shoots 2 FTs my more veteran partners say “he wasn’t in the act” when the foul occurred.
Thoughts??
I say that there is no way to tell from the above description whether A1 was in the act or not.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 02:01pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I say that there is no way to tell from the above description whether A1 was in the act or not.
Why not?

Is he driving to the basket?

Has he gathered the ball (both hands on the ball)?

Then he has started the shooting motion - unless he passes it off, he was shooting. Give him his free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 02:44pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,942
When in doubt I give 'em 2 shots. Helps to discourage those types of fouls, IMO.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 03:42pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the responses! I thought I was interpreting the rule correctly. But when vets who are at a level I'd like to be, are like "no because he took 2 steps after the whistle" I had to bring it to the forum for clarification.

Afterall, this IS where I learned to apply so many of the rules correctly
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 03:39pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockyroad View Post
Why not?

Is he driving to the basket?

Has he gathered the ball (both hands on the ball)?

Then he has started the shooting motion - unless he passes it off, he was shooting. Give him his free throws.
He was at the free throw line. He may have pulled up because B1 (who is 6' 10)
was blocking his path. A lot of variables are not spelled out in the OP.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 03:45pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
He was at the free throw line. He may have pulled up because B1 (who is 6' 10)
was blocking his path. A lot of variables are not spelled out in the OP.
Negative, although he gathered the ball he did not "pull up" it was a drive to the bucket.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 14, 2009, 03:55pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Negative, although he gathered the ball he did not "pull up" it was a drive to the bucket.
Yeah - we all got that. Well, most of us got that.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 18, 2009, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NH
Posts: 7
Post

[QUOTE=Ch1town;602096]Mens wreck last night:

A1 dribbles the length of the court & immediately upon gathering the ball at the FT line, B1 fouls A1 (tweet). A1 takes 2 steps & misses the shot.

[QUOTE=Snaqwells;602743]As we all know, 2 steps has nothing to do with whether a player traveled. It's all on where the feet were when the ball was gathered.

We only have what Ch1town gave us. Most of the time, when a player is dribbling, his feet are on the floor. Upon gathering the ball ? Snaqwells,This is when you find a pivot foot. Now if A1 takes 2 steps, Let's say 3 steps, 4 steps.
No shot, inbound the ball.
You can give 2 shots , with the five year old kids.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 19, 2009, 09:09am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOFARMA View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Mens wreck last night:

A1 dribbles the length of the court & immediately upon gathering the ball at the FT line, B1 fouls A1 (tweet). A1 takes 2 steps & misses the shot.

We only have what Ch1town gave us. Most of the time, when a player is dribbling, his feet are on the floor. Upon gathering the ball ? Snaqwells,This is when you find a pivot foot. Now if A1 takes 2 steps, Let's say 3 steps, 4 steps.
No shot, inbound the ball.
You can give 2 shots , with the five year old kids.
I'm aware of the traveling rule, but thanks for the breakdown. However, on a coast-to-coast drive, players rarely gather the ball with a foot on the floor; this is why layups look like two steps. Is "takes 2 steps" really accurate? No, because he's really only stepping once before jumping once the pivot foot hits the floor.

That said, the popular perception is that it's two steps. And again, the obvious point of the OP was about the shooting motion starting, not questioning whether the player traveled. And Ch1town had already clarified that point in this post:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
No sir, forgive me for my poor verbage but please believe me when I say A1 did not exceed the prescribed limits.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Tue May 19, 2009 at 09:12am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooting FTs? BktBallRef Basketball 1 Thu Mar 12, 2009 11:43pm
shooting or not shooting tmuckel Basketball 10 Mon Nov 06, 2006 08:58am
Shooting Foul & Technical - Free Throw Shooting? brightstripes54 Basketball 10 Tue Feb 15, 2005 12:56pm
shooting a Gmoore Basketball 18 Fri Dec 12, 2003 03:38pm
Act of shooting ROMANO Basketball 39 Wed Jan 08, 2003 02:14pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1