The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:36pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
Does anything change on this-

So team A throws the ball in from the endline into their backcourt. Pass is caught controlled by A1 thus establishing control. Ball then is fumbled and tipped around. If a player from Team A OR Team B is the last to touch it in the backcourt and tips it into the frontcourt where it is again batted around by Team A or Team B. Ball goes into the backcourt. Team A gets control of the ball- violation?

I'm thinking yes it is a violation in either case. Even if team B touches it last(without control, loose ball) in the backcourt and again touches it again in the frontcourt, it would still be a violation if Team A gets the ball in the backcourt. So even if Team A did not touch the ball in the frontcourt they could still be called for a violation? That would be a really weird play.
If it is, do you call the violation right when Team A touches the ball in the backcourt after it had gone in the front or when they have control of the ball? Example, ball backcourt then frontcourt and then back, B1 knocks it off A1 while in the backcourt. Call it there?

Last edited by mutantducky; Sun Feb 08, 2009 at 09:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Does anything change on this-

So team A throws the ball in from the endline into their backcourt. Pass is caught controlled by A1 thus establishing control. Ball then is fumbled and tipped around. If a player from Team A OR Team B is the last to touch it in the backcourt and tips it into the frontcourt where it is again batted around by Team A or Team B. Ball goes into the backcourt. Team A gets control of the ball- violation?

I'm thinking yes it is a violation in either case. Even if team B touches it last(without control, loose ball) in the backcourt and again touches it again in the frontcourt, it would still be a violation if Team A gets the ball in the backcourt. So even if Team A did not touch the ball in the frontcourt they could still be called for a violation? That would be a really weird play.
If it is, do you call the violation right when Team A touches the ball in the backcourt after it had gone in the front or when they have control of the ball? Example, ball backcourt then frontcourt and then back, B1 knocks it off A1 while in the backcourt. Call it there?
No. If B is last to touch the ball before it goes into the BC, it's not a violation.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:52pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
Ok- so the key is if B is the last to touch. A can touch it in the FC but as long as B touches it last before it goes back into the BC then it isn't a violation. kind of like the case book play, where on a looseball in A's fc b slaps it off A1's leg and A recovers it, violation because A1 last to touch it in the FC.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,016
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Ok- so the key is if B is the last to touch. A can touch it in the FC but as long as B touches it last before it goes back into the BC then it isn't a violation. kind of like the case book play, where on a looseball in A's fc b slaps it off A1's leg and A recovers it, violation because A1 last to touch it in the FC.
You can answer your own questions by just examining the rule.

Rule 9,
SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

ART. 2 . . . While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Ok- so the key is if B is the last to touch. A can touch it in the FC but as long as B touches it last before it goes back into the BC then it isn't a violation. kind of like the case book play, where on a looseball in A's fc b slaps it off A1's leg and A recovers it, violation because A1 last to touch it in the FC.
You're getting it!!!!
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:25pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
yippeee
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
I think the tough Team Control call, for some, is this scenario:

Team A, in their FC, attempts a try...the ball is momentarily controlled by post Player A1 after the missed shot.

Player B1 knocks the ball loose and there is a mad scramble for the loose ball, with both A1 and B1 hitting the ball at different times.

Finally, Player A1 undercuts Player B1 as they dive for the loose ball.

Team A has 10 team fouls.

Ruling: Team Control Foul...no foul shots for Player B1...ball at nearest point of the foul for a throw-in.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:46pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
last snitch. well hopefully

If there is an inadvertent whistle for a BC violation in the examples I used, does ball go back to the original throw in spot? If the pass was controlled by team A1 or b. Pass not controlled. I guess you wouldn't put time back on the clock either
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
I think the tough Team Control call, for some, is this scenario:

Team A, in their FC, attempts a try...the ball is momentarily controlled by post Player A1 after the missed shot.

Player B1 knocks the ball loose and there is a mad scramble for the loose ball, with both A1 and B1 hitting the ball at different times.

Finally, Player A1 undercuts Player B1 as they dive for the loose ball.

Team A has 10 team fouls.

Ruling: Team Control Foul...no foul shots for Player B1...ball at nearest point of the foul for a throw-in.
This is no worse, in my opinion, than the official calling a 3-second violation on a player as the same mad scramble for the loose ball continues for four seconds out near the division line, but still in the front court.....But, the rules still say, the violation should be called in your scenario since team control has been established and the ball is in the front court.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Does anything change on this-

PART A: team A throws the ball in from the endline into their backcourt. Pass is caught controlled by A1 thus establishing control.

PART B: Ball is fumbled and tipped around into the frontcourt where it is again batted around by Team A or Team B. Ball then returns to the backcourt. Team A gets control of the ball- violation?
.
PART A: TEAM CONTROL EXISTS FOR TEAM A.

PART B: YES, IF TEAM A was LAST TO TOUCH in FC; NO if TEAM B was LAST TO TOUCH in FC
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 10:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Does anything change on this-

So team A throws the ball in from the endline into their backcourt. Pass is caught controlled by A1 thus establishing control. Ball then is fumbled and tipped around. If a player from Team A OR Team B is the last to touch it in the backcourt and tips it into the frontcourt where it is again batted around by Team A or Team B. Ball goes into the backcourt. Team A gets control of the ball- violation?

I'm thinking yes it is a violation in either case. Even if team B touches it last(without control, loose ball) in the backcourt and again touches it again in the frontcourt, it would still be a violation if Team A gets the ball in the backcourt. So even if Team A did not touch the ball in the frontcourt they could still be called for a violation? That would be a really weird play.
If it is, do you call the violation right when Team A touches the ball in the backcourt after it had gone in the front or when they have control of the ball? Example, ball backcourt then frontcourt and then back, B1 knocks it off A1 while in the backcourt. Call it there?
4 Requirements:

1) Team Control
2) Ball obtains FC location
3) Team A last to touch before ball goes to BC
4) Team A first to touch after ball goes to BC

Apply those to your (or almost any) situation to get the answer.

3 Exceptions:

1) Jump ball
2) Throw In
3) Defensive Player
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch JugglingReferee Basketball 8 Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm
First to touch ripcord51 Basketball 6 Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm
First to touch RefTip Basketball 12 Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am
Touch Back or not?? Huskerblue Football 9 Fri Sep 16, 2005 03:10pm
Can't be the first one to touch it? dub3 Basketball 18 Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1