The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:52pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
Ok- so the key is if B is the last to touch. A can touch it in the FC but as long as B touches it last before it goes back into the BC then it isn't a violation. kind of like the case book play, where on a looseball in A's fc b slaps it off A1's leg and A recovers it, violation because A1 last to touch it in the FC.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Ok- so the key is if B is the last to touch. A can touch it in the FC but as long as B touches it last before it goes back into the BC then it isn't a violation. kind of like the case book play, where on a looseball in A's fc b slaps it off A1's leg and A recovers it, violation because A1 last to touch it in the FC.
You can answer your own questions by just examining the rule.

Rule 9,
SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . . A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

ART. 2 . . . While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, such that he/she or a teammate is the first to touch it in the backcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 09:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
Ok- so the key is if B is the last to touch. A can touch it in the FC but as long as B touches it last before it goes back into the BC then it isn't a violation. kind of like the case book play, where on a looseball in A's fc b slaps it off A1's leg and A recovers it, violation because A1 last to touch it in the FC.
You're getting it!!!!
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:25pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
yippeee
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
I think the tough Team Control call, for some, is this scenario:

Team A, in their FC, attempts a try...the ball is momentarily controlled by post Player A1 after the missed shot.

Player B1 knocks the ball loose and there is a mad scramble for the loose ball, with both A1 and B1 hitting the ball at different times.

Finally, Player A1 undercuts Player B1 as they dive for the loose ball.

Team A has 10 team fouls.

Ruling: Team Control Foul...no foul shots for Player B1...ball at nearest point of the foul for a throw-in.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 11:46pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
last snitch. well hopefully

If there is an inadvertent whistle for a BC violation in the examples I used, does ball go back to the original throw in spot? If the pass was controlled by team A1 or b. Pass not controlled. I guess you wouldn't put time back on the clock either
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
last snitch. well hopefully

If there is an inadvertent whistle for a BC violation in the examples I used, does ball go back to the original throw in spot? If the pass was controlled by team A1 or b. Pass not controlled. I guess you wouldn't put time back on the clock either
Please don't snitch on anyone.

The ball would only return to the throw-in location if no one on the court had yet touched it when the whistle sounded. Otherwise, the ball goes to the nearest OOB spot to where it was last touched by a player or in contact with the floor after the throw-in had ended.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 03:51am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
Since you most assuredly have a vast knowledge of the rules and situations...I deeply apologize for you having to muddle through my seemingly
simplistic scenario (as evidence of your icon)...

but, maybe just maybe...some lesser informed official, than you Mr. ducky, might get something out of the "sitch" that was stated.
Don't take it personally. I know you're not because you're no rookie.
I took it as his icon was directed at his own post, not anyone else's.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 07:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Don't take it personally. I know you're not because you're no rookie.
I took it as his icon was directed at his own post, not anyone else's.
Whoops...I thought Mr. Mutantducky was hammering my post.

That'll teach me for taking this 12 hour nightshift overtime without any daytime sleep.

I deleted my overly sensitive post...thanks for the heads up.
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 12:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by RookieDude View Post
I think the tough Team Control call, for some, is this scenario:

Team A, in their FC, attempts a try...the ball is momentarily controlled by post Player A1 after the missed shot.

Player B1 knocks the ball loose and there is a mad scramble for the loose ball, with both A1 and B1 hitting the ball at different times.

Finally, Player A1 undercuts Player B1 as they dive for the loose ball.

Team A has 10 team fouls.

Ruling: Team Control Foul...no foul shots for Player B1...ball at nearest point of the foul for a throw-in.
This is no worse, in my opinion, than the official calling a 3-second violation on a player as the same mad scramble for the loose ball continues for four seconds out near the division line, but still in the front court.....But, the rules still say, the violation should be called in your scenario since team control has been established and the ball is in the front court.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch JugglingReferee Basketball 8 Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm
First to touch ripcord51 Basketball 6 Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm
First to touch RefTip Basketball 12 Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am
Touch Back or not?? Huskerblue Football 9 Fri Sep 16, 2005 03:10pm
Can't be the first one to touch it? dub3 Basketball 18 Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1