View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 03:23am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
? So the control in the backcourt carries over to control in the frontcourt? I guess the whole team that had control last remains in control during a loose ball situation.

What if, instead of a pass from the backcourt it is a throw in from the end/baseline. A1 touches the pass but there is no control and the ball is bouncing around and is tipped into the frontcourt and then by team A into the backcourt. Violation there? Does team control for team A start from the throw in?
I think that you've got it now. Team control does carry over until the ball becomes dead, the opponent gains control, or it is relinquished with a try for goal going into flight.

Since there is no team control during a throw-in, the situation that you have proposed with one tip/bat after another would not result in a backcourt violation.

BTW the NCAA ruling would be the same (no backcourt violation) even though there is team control during a throw-in as there is a specific exception for a throw-in written into the rules for that level.
Reply With Quote