The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 12:47pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Finally I have seen one, first touch after....

I have often tried to envision 9-9-1 the way we have often morphed the play.
Rule 9
SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
ART. 1 . . .
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team
control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by

the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

BV, I was Trail and backing up as Team A had frontcourt possession and the passed ball was loose and bouncing toward the division line.

A2 touched the pass. [Ball still bouncing toward backcourt.]
A2 chased down the ball to save the violation. [I'm now on the division line.]
[Ball bounced in frontcourt then 12" over the division line (but did not touch backcourt).]
A2, chasing the ball, reached the ball and with his right hand batted the ball toward the frontcourt, and the ball landed on barely 1/2 of the division line and bounced into the frontcourt.
[Note: Defender B had slipped to the floor and was out of the action, so A2 was all alone on this play]
A2's momentum toward the backcourt forced athletic A2 [never in the backcourt] to tightrope, about 6 steps, a line less than 2 " on the frontcourt side, and parallel to, the division line.

Without having touched the backcourt, A2 recovered the ball.



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 12:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
How did A's coach respond?

BJV last weekend. A1, at the division line but still in his FC, grabs it, realizes he was going to lose the battle with Newton's first law of motion, so throws it off the defender's leg and it bounces into the BC. A1 then recovered legally in his BC. I'm C right in front of Bs coach, and he's audibly impressed.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 01:07pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
How did A's coach respond?

BJV last weekend. A1, at the division line but still in his FC, grabs it, realizes he was going to lose the battle with Newton's first law of motion, so throws it off the defender's leg and it bounces into the BC. A1 then recovered legally in his BC. I'm C right in front of Bs coach, and he's audibly impressed.
I heard some *white noise* from the fans opposite, but didn't even give a look toward the Team A bench.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 07:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,376
Or Maybe I'm Missing Something Here ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
A2, chasing the ball, reached the ball and with his right hand batted the ball toward the frontcourt, and the ball landed on barely 1/2 of the division line and bounced into the frontcourt.
If the ball touched the division line, then the ball gained backcourt status. If it was touched by next A2, isn't this a backcourt violation? Sounds to me like this is similar to a player dribbling close to, and parallel to, the division line, the ball strikes the division line, and the dribbler, while in the frontcourt, continues to dribble. Isn't this also a backcourt violation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 07:27pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
If the ball touched the division line, then the ball gained backcourt status. If it was touched by next A2, isn't this a backcourt violation? Sounds to me like this is similar to a player dribbling close to, and parallel to, the division line, the ball strikes the division line, and the dribbler, while in the frontcourt, continues to dribble. Isn't this also a backcourt violation?
I think you are employing 9-1-1.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 08:37pm
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team
control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by



So if the ball is in control by A in the backcourt and on a pass the ball lands in the front court. The ball is then fumbled then tipped around. A is the last one to touch it and A2 recovers the ball in the bc. No violation because there hasn't been control?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2009, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutantducky View Post
A player shall not be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team
control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by



So if the ball is in control by A in the backcourt and on a pass the ball lands in the front court. The ball is then fumbled then tipped around. A is the last one to touch it and A2 recovers the ball in the bc. No violation because there hasn't been control?
Not correct. Team A is in control the entire time. That's a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 08, 2009, 03:05am
In Time Out
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 794
? So the control in the backcourt carries over to control in the frontcourt? I guess the whole team that had control last remains in control during a loose ball situation.

What if, instead of a pass from the backcourt it is a throw in from the end/baseline. A1 touches the pass but there is no control and the ball is bouncing around and is tipped into the frontcourt and then by team A into the backcourt. Violation there? Does team control for team A start from the throw in?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
BV, I was Trail and backing up as Team A had frontcourt possession and the passed ball was loose and bouncing toward the division line
A2 touched the pass. [Ball still bouncing toward backcourt.]
A2 chased down the ball to save the violation. [I'm now on the division line.]Ball bounced in frontcourt then 12" over the division line (but did not touch backcourt).
A2, chasing the ball, reached the ball and with his right hand batted the ball toward the frontcourt, and the ball landed on barely 1/2 of the division line and bounced into the frontcourt. [Note: Defender B had slipped to the floor and was out of the action, so A2 was all alone on this play]
A2's momentum toward the backcourt forced athletic A2 [never in the backcourt] to tightrope, about 6 steps, a line less than 2 " on the frontcourt side, and parallel to, the division line
Without having touched the backcourt, A2 recovered the ball
.

The bat by A2 that hit the division line gives the ballback court status but it is not in player control so ther is no violation.

once the ball bounced in the front court any player from team A could recover the ball because it now has front court status, great no call.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 09, 2009, 04:19pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
.

The bat by A2 that hit the division line gives the ballback court status but it is not in player control so ther is no violation.

once the ball bounced in the front court any player from team A could recover the ball because it now has front court status, great no call.
OHBBREF,
I didn't make a great no-call, nor did I make a bad no-call, for that matter.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch JugglingReferee Basketball 8 Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm
First to touch ripcord51 Basketball 6 Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm
First to touch RefTip Basketball 12 Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am
Touch Back or not?? Huskerblue Football 9 Fri Sep 16, 2005 03:10pm
Can't be the first one to touch it? dub3 Basketball 18 Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:14am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1