The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I don't have my book here, but the case play is what gives permission to grant the timeout. Why would it give permission to do what's already beend one, if as you say, "granted" means actually reporting the TO.
Now, in a blow-out, it's no big deal either way. In a tight game, however, you could have just allowed B to set up a press, new defense, get quick coaching instructions, etc., and B gets all this without burning a TO. I don't know if that's why the Fed rules this way, but it's why I like it.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I don't have my book here, but the case play is what gives permission to grant the timeout. Why would it give permission to do what's already beend one, if as you say, "granted" means actually reporting the TO.
Now, in a blow-out, it's no big deal either way. In a tight game, however, you could have just allowed B to set up a press, new defense, get quick coaching instructions, etc., and B gets all this without burning a TO. I don't know if that's why the Fed rules this way, but it's why I like it.
It does not "give permission" to grant the timeout. It says you have to honor the timeout since you've already granted it.

The point I'm bringing up is what if you haven't granted it?
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:41pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
It does not "give permission" to grant the timeout. It says you have to honor the timeout since you've already granted it.

The point I'm bringing up is what if you haven't granted it?
I worded that poorly. Why would it tell you to do what you've already done? Of course, once you report it you can no longer revoke it. To me, the simplest answer here is that it's telling you once you've stopped the clock in response to the coach's request, you have to grant the TO.

When I said "permission" I meant as opposed to NCAA, where this is clearly not the rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
To me, the simplest answer here is that it's telling you once you've stopped the clock in response to the coach's request, you have to grant the TO.
I don't see where it says that at all.

Can you show me where it says that?

"5.8.3 SITUATION I: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official.
RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B."
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
I don't see where it says that at all.

Can you show me where it says that?

"5.8.3 SITUATION I: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official.
RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B."
5-8-3, Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time out, . . .

If your an official and the clock was running and you stopped the clock because a player/head coach requested a time-out, I think by rule 5-8-3 you just granted a time out.

My $.02.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
5-8-3, Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time out, . . .

If your an official and the clock was running and you stopped the clock because a player/head coach requested a time-out, I think by rule 5-8-3 you just granted a time out.

My $.02.
If you're an official and the clock was running and you stopped the clock because you thought you saw a travel but you realized you really didn't, did you, by rule, just call a travel?
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
If you're an official and the clock was running and you stopped the clock because you thought you saw a travel but you realized you really didn't, did you, by rule, just call a travel?
Yes. You better not be stopping the clock and calling nothing.

I did this last year on accident and came here for the same advice. If you blow the whistle in response to a request for a timeout, you have to grant it, even if the defense asked for it. If the offensive coach complains, just tell him you messed it up and move on.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
Yes. You better not be stopping the clock and calling nothing.
Then why is there such thing as an inadvertent whistle? Personally, I'd rather get the call right than keep myself from looking bad.

Quote:
If you blow the whistle in response to a request for a timeout, you have to grant it, even if the defense asked for it.
I understand the argument. But I have yet to see this argument backed up by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Then why is there such thing as an inadvertent whistle? Personally, I'd rather get the call right than keep myself from looking bad.



I understand the argument. But I have yet to see this argument backed up by rule.

IMO, the rule that backs it up is 5-8-3 and the case play 5.8.3E gives us an interpretation to apply when things are a bit screwed up.

If there was a case play that said, "if you think you saw a travel and you blew your whistle but you decided it wasn't a travel, you must go ahead and call the travel," then yes, I would go ahead and call a travel.

Last edited by Scratch85; Wed Dec 09, 2009 at 01:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
If you're an official and the clock was running and you stopped the clock because you thought you saw a travel but you realized you really didn't, did you, by rule, just call a travel?
That's analogous to "the coach stood up, so I thought s/he was going to request a TO, so I blew the whistle" or "the coach yelled for play "five out" and I thought s/he said "time out" so I blew the whistle." Each of those is an inadvertant whistle and the game resumes.

If the coach says "time out" and you blow the whistle because that's what the coach said, then you've granted the TO.
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
Let's say it's a close game, and you use this procedure, and as Team A is inbouding the ball, Coach B starts screaming that he called time out. Do you still think it's an acceptable way to handle it?

Thinking about it, it seems reasonable that you could go to Coach B at the next available opportunity and say "Coach, your first timeout request was invalid, since it came while Team A had the ball. By rule, it was an inadvertent whistle. And since you didn't call timeout while the ball was dead after I blew the whistle, I didn't grant you a timeout."

You would be within the rules to do this, but is it good game management, seeing as though Coach B is likely to blow his stack?
No. Notice I said "that situation". Meaning in the specific instance you cited, what you did worked. From a game management point of view. And worked is good. However, it was incorrect and directly contradicts the case play that has been quoted.

Don't get hung on up whether or not you "granted" the time out. It's not really a relevant argument. A time out was requested. You blew your whistle, the ball is now dead. A time out request by either team during a dead ball must be granted. The coach still wants the time out. And now he's entitled to it. You're just going to have to eat this one.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 07:10pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Inadvertent Whistles ...

Even if you immediately state "inadvertent whistle", the ball is now dead, and either team can request, and be granted a timeout during a dead ball. Inadvertent whistle doesn't cover up the error.

Timeout requests are one of those situations where "metric" rules are a little better than the NFHS rules.

Now let me tell you about real inadvertent whistles, A1 fouling A2 during a rebound situation. Believe it, or not, this has happened twice to me in twenty-nine years.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Dec 10, 2009 at 07:16pm.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 01:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
It's happened to me once. The visiting team had two different color jerseys. One was silver, the other was the same shade of red as my face after I realized I'd just called a foul for one teammate fouling another.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 07:20pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
There Must Be A Definition ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
I'd just called a foul for one teammate fouling another.
Good luck finding that under Rule 4 - Definitions - Fouls.

However, what if two teammates start screaming f-bombs at each other, or take a swing at each other, and make contact, during a live ball? What type of fouls are these?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 10, 2009, 07:26pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Good luck finding that under Rule 4 - Definitions - Fouls.

However, what if two teammates start screaming f-bombs at each other, or take a swing at each other, and make contact, during a live ball? What type of fouls are these?
Flagrant technical fouls
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster SoInZebra Basketball 122 Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm
the time displayed as post time is way off chuck chopper General / Off-Topic 2 Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
Lag time when coach calls time out JeffTheRef Basketball 6 Mon Jan 12, 2004 03:43pm
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1