Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco
If you're an official and the clock was running and you stopped the clock because you thought you saw a travel but you realized you really didn't, did you, by rule, just call a travel?
|
That's analogous to "the coach stood up, so I thought s/he was going to request a TO, so I blew the whistle" or "the coach yelled for play "five out" and I thought s/he said "time out" so I blew the whistle." Each of those is an inadvertant whistle and the game resumes.
If the coach says "time out" and you blow the whistle because that's what the coach said, then you've granted the TO.