Thread: Time Out
View Single Post
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 01:03pm
Scratch85 Scratch85 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiasco View Post
I don't see where it says that at all.

Can you show me where it says that?

"5.8.3 SITUATION I: A1 is dribbling the ball in his/her backcourt when: (a) the Team B head coach requests and is erroneously granted a time-out by an official.
RULING: In (a), Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was requested and granted; once granted it cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B."
5-8-3, Time-out occurs and the clock, if running, shall be stopped when an official grants a player's/head coach's oral or visual request for a time out, . . .

If your an official and the clock was running and you stopped the clock because a player/head coach requested a time-out, I think by rule 5-8-3 you just granted a time out.

My $.02.
Reply With Quote