The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 93
Did i execute this situation correctly?

A1 has the ball at the top of the key

as he is setting up the play, A2 gets pushed by B2

team B has 8 team fouls.

We give A2 the one and one shot...

so heres my question was that the correct thing to do?
__________________
I may be young but I am NOT a rookie
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 11:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRef5 View Post
A1 has the ball at the top of the key

as he is setting up the play, A2 gets pushed by B2

team B has 8 team fouls.

We give A2 the one and one shot...

so heres my question was that the correct thing to do?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 11:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 93
thanks just checking
__________________
I may be young but I am NOT a rookie
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 11:49pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,878
Why did you think you were not correct?

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 93
for some reason i thought that the team was supposed to take the ball out of bounds, because it was away from the ball and it was post play. But regardless, i know it has nothing to do with giving the player his one and one


oh and the push may have been considered "excessive" so if i were to call an intentional, would A2 shoot the one and one then the 2 freethrows plus the ball at the division line?

does this make sense?

thanks
__________________
I may be young but I am NOT a rookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shishmaref, Alaska
Posts: 187
Send a message via Skype™ to shishstripes
Intentional foul would just be 2 shots and the ball back nearest the location of the foul.

You wouldn't shoot if there was a player control foul or a team control foul (if teams were in bonus). Foul on defense shoot the bonus if the team is in the bonus.

Last edited by shishstripes; Sat Dec 20, 2008 at 12:00am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 11:58pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRef5 View Post
for some reason i thought that the team was supposed to take the ball out of bounds, because it was away from the ball and it was post play. But regardless, i know it has nothing to do with giving the player his one and one


oh and the push may have been considered "excessive" so if i were to call an intentional, would A2 shoot the one and one then the 2 freethrows plus the ball at the division line?

does this make sense?

thanks
If you considered this an intentional foul, then it would be 2 shoots and the ball given to A2 (unless injured, then sub has to shoot). You would do the same if the foul was flagrant. Since none of that took place, this is just a foul that requires bonus FTs. You did the right thing.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 19, 2008, 11:58pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRef5 View Post
oh and the push may have been considered "excessive" so if i were to call an intentional, would A2 shoot the one and one then the 2 freethrows plus the ball at the division line?

does this make sense?

thanks
No. If the foul was deemed to be excessive, the penalty is 2 shots to the offended player, plus possession at the spot nearest the foul for a spot throw-in.

Cool twist: Imagine A1 was in the act of shooting what ends up being a successful shot, and B2 excessively fouls A2. Count the hoop for A1, give A2 two shots, and A gets the throw-in too!
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
If you considered this an intentional foul, then it would be 2 shoots and the ball given to A2 (unless injured, then sub has to shoot). You would do the same if the foul was flagrant. Since none of that took place, this is just a foul that requires bonus FTs. You did the right thing.

Peace
so the bonus freethrows wont be taken? just the 2 shots for the intentional?
__________________
I may be young but I am NOT a rookie
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 12:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 350
Correct.
__________________
If it's a foul on that end, IT'S GOTTA BE A FOUL ON THIS END!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 12:03am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRef5 View Post
so the bonus freethrows wont be taken? just the 2 shots for the intentional?
Correct. The foul is upgraded to be an intentional foul, and therefore carries the penalty for the intentional foul, but not both the "1+1" *and* 2 shots for the INT.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 12:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CA
Posts: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
Correct. The foul is upgraded to be an intentional foul, and therefore carries the penalty for the intentional foul, but not both the "1+1" *and* 2 shots for the INT.
thanks!
__________________
I may be young but I am NOT a rookie
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 01:45am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRef5 View Post
so the bonus freethrows wont be taken? just the 2 shots for the intentional?
Just think of it this way; if there was a shooting foul after the bonus has been reached, would you shoot the one and one plus the two shots for the shooting foul?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 01:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRef5 View Post
so the bonus freethrows wont be taken? just the 2 shots for the intentional?
An intentional foul is a different type of foul than a common foul. As such, it has a different penalty than a common foul. Under no circumstances does any single foul ever have multiple penalties that bestow any extra shots.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 20, 2008, 09:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaRef5 View Post
A1 has the ball at the top of the key

as he is setting up the play, A2 gets pushed by B2

team B has 8 team fouls.

We give A2 the one and one shot...

so heres my question was that the correct thing to do?
CaRef5,
It always a good thing to check what you're not sure of, but it sounds ike you may be overthinking plays a little. You nailed it.
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did I handle this situation correctly? canadaump6 Baseball 18 Wed Jun 18, 2008 08:38pm
Was this done correctly? Teigan Basketball 6 Thu Jan 04, 2007 10:22am
Did I handle this situation correctly? JollyJim Softball 15 Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:45pm
MNF: Did I hear that correctly? OverAndBack Football 7 Tue Oct 11, 2005 02:11am
Don't think i handled this correctly but.... largeone59 Baseball 5 Fri Jul 01, 2005 10:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1