The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Penalty for this or not?

This has been discussed somewhat in other threads.

I worked with a very good rules guy last night and we differed when discussign a hypothetical situation. Here goes.

A1 inbounding on a SPOT throw-in. B1 defending the thrower. A1 is well behind the line and releases the throw. B1 reaches through the plane after the ball is released and touches the pass (or grabs it).

I say there is no rule making this illegal. The rule speaks of a ball being passed outside the line to a teammate (not a spot throw-in) and reaching through BEFORE the ball is released. He was certain that this was a violation.

Can anyone answer with certainty?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 153
9-2-10 I believe
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,073
The violation section (9-2-x -- I' maway from the books) specifically says "until the ball has been released on an inbounds pass."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 09:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lakewood, Ohio
Posts: 710
9-2-10

ART. 10. . . The opponent(s) of the thrower shall not have any part of his/her
person through the inbounds side of the throw-in boundary-line plane until the
ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
NOTE: The thrower may penetrate the plane provided he/she does not touch the inbounds
area before the ball is released on the throw-in pass. The opponent in this situation may
legally touch or grasp the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
If the thrower extends his arms through the plane while holding the ball and the defender grabs the ball such that both are holding the ball, what is the proper call? Is it a held ball or is it out-of-bounds on the thrower?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 13, 2008, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxic Czar View Post
If the thrower extends his arms through the plane while holding the ball and the defender grabs the ball such that both are holding the ball, what is the proper call? Is it a held ball or is it out-of-bounds on the thrower?
Held ball. and the arrow (if applicable) hasn't changed, since the throw-in never ended, so it's essentially a do-over.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
So we agree that reaching through and touching a ball AFTER release on a spot throw-in is NOT a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 09:43am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
So we agree that reaching through and touching a ball AFTER release on a spot throw-in is NOT a violation?
I hope so, that's pretty clear in the rules.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Just wanting to be clear. I had a three hour drive home last night on ice-covered roads and I'm not thinking real clear yet.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 09:48am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Just wanting to be clear. I had a three hour drive home last night on ice-covered roads and I'm not thinking real clear yet.
Ouch. I understand.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,465
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
So we agree that reaching through and touching a ball AFTER release on a spot throw-in is NOT a violation?
That's true for NFHS games.
The rule is different at the NCAA level. The defender must wait until the ball breaks the boundary plane.
I've posted this difference several times on this forum. If you do a search, you can locate one of the past threads.

I'm thinking that your partner also works at the NCAA level. That would explain his confusion.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juulie Downs View Post
Held ball. and the arrow (if applicable) hasn't changed, since the throw-in never ended, so it's essentially a do-over.
To be clear, in this situation team A would only maintain possession if this was an AP throw-in or if A had the arrow. If this was not an AP throw-in and B had the arrow, team B would get the ball. Correct??
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 11:00am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
To be clear, in this situation team A would only maintain possession if this was an AP throw-in or if A had the arrow. If this was not an AP throw-in and B had the arrow, team B would get the ball. Correct??
Correct. It's a held ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 05:01pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Just wanting to be clear. I had a three hour drive home last night on ice-covered roads and I'm not thinking real clear yet.
Ouch. You were one of the few who had a game last night. If I would have known, I would have rode along with you.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 17, 2008, 05:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 1,955
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref View Post
Just wanting to be clear. I had a three hour drive home last night on ice-covered roads and I'm not thinking real clear yet.
I take it you were not down state if you had a game last night???
__________________
That's my whistle -- and I'm sticking to it!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the Penalty? varefump Volleyball 10 Tue Sep 11, 2007 03:05pm
What is the penalty? Dentonump Baseball 7 Fri Apr 13, 2007 02:50pm
Penalty? fan Football 3 Thu Oct 05, 2006 07:54am
Penalty? fan Football 6 Wed Sep 13, 2006 03:33pm
What is the penalty? DJ Basketball 21 Thu Feb 05, 2004 05:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1