![]() |
|
|||
Unusual Situation - Did we get it right?
I had an unusual situation this evening and would like some opinions
as to whether we got it right or not. During the introductions of the starting lineups prior to the game it was discovered that BOTH teams had number errors in the book. This is easy if it were only one team, and there is reference in the case book to one team having an error, but I can't find anything that specifically addresses errors by both teams. Here is how we handled it. Since both errors were discovered during introductions, I considered this to be a simultaneous technical foul. By rule, there are no free throws for simultaneous fouls and play is resumed at the point of interuption. Since play hadn't started yet, I considered the POI to be the jump ball and that is how we started the game. Each team was charged with a team foul, which effectively allowed both teams to shoot the bonus one foul sooner than normal. Was this correct? The problem I have with the way we handled it is that there was no real penalty to either team for the errors. Would anyone have treated this differently? |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Unusual situation | FHSUref | Basketball | 2 | Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:22am |
Very "unusual" situation! HELP! | VaCoach | Basketball | 35 | Sun Feb 08, 2004 12:00pm |
Unusual Situation | SMEngmann | Basketball | 4 | Mon Dec 15, 2003 09:33am |
An unusual situation | ChuckElias | Basketball | 43 | Sun Aug 04, 2002 09:57pm |
Unusual Situation | blacktiger | Basketball | 13 | Tue Jan 16, 2001 09:27am |