|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
|  Interrupted dribble and OOB 
			
			I was perusing the rules (06/07 rules) and read: Art. 6... During an interrupted dribble: a. A closely guarded count shall not be started or shall be terminated. b. A player-control foul cannot be committed. c. A time-out request shall not be granted. d. Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble d. has me wondering, can a dribbler, when an interupted dribbler ocurrs and while touching OOB touch/tip the ball? d. seems to indicate he can. Is there a rule or case play indicating this is illegal? 
				__________________ - SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			During an interrupted dribble a player is not in control nor touching the ball therefore it is not a violation when they step OOB.
		 
				__________________ A-hole formerly known as BNR | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 It's that part that "doesn't apply." | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Bob, I am familiar with the dribbler touching OOB being a violation whether they are touching the ball and OOB at the same time or not.  But 6 d does not say "Rule xx does not apply, it say "Out-of-bounds violation" does not apply.
		 
				__________________ - SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			I re-read the dribble definition, "bat or push to the floor".  The interrupted dribbler can not touch or bat the ball to the floor without it being a dribble, however they could tip/bat the ball to a teammate, or the ball could bounce off of them (leg or hip) for example while touching OOB. (I know this is very unlikely in developed ball players.) I am just wondering. 
				__________________ - SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Are you asking that if during an interrupted dribble, the dribbler attempts to recover the ball but is standing on an OOB while simultaneously touching/tipping the ball... is that legal? As in A1 while dribbling momentarily loses the ball. While attempting to recover the ball A1 is standing on a OOB line & contacts the ball? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ - SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Which would cause and official to blow his/her whistle,  raise an open palm to the sky, followed by a point and poclamation of a color other than that worn by the dribbler.
		 
				__________________ A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Fri Oct 17, 2008 at 03:56pm. | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Where do the rules say you are correct in making that call in light of the 6d exception?
		 
				__________________ - SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Quote: 
 The exception you are referencing does not over-ride that fundamental rule. The exception you are referencing is there to differentiate from a dribbler who voluntarily goes OOB in betweens bats. You are over-thinking the rule. 
				__________________ A-hole formerly known as BNR | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Is there a rule or case play indicating this is illegal? Since no one came up this one that did not include OOB violation, which 6d says is excluded, I chalk this up to a minor error in the rules. 
				__________________ - SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			It is, perhaps, a little vaguely worded. But I it seems that most of us understand that it's referring to 9-3-1 Note ("The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.").  Perhaps if it were worded thus: "d. The former dribbler does not commit an out-of-bounds violation if he/she steps on our outside a boundary while not touching the ball (See 9-1-3 Note)." 
				__________________ "It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 6d does not say a player with OOB status can touch the ball. The exception refers to a player leaving court who is not in contact with the ball. 
				__________________ A-hole formerly known as BNR | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| interrupted dribble | Dbyb | Basketball | 3 | Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:19am | 
| Interrupted dribble | MPLAHE | Basketball | 2 | Sat Feb 05, 2005 02:40pm | 
| 3 Sec During Interrupted Dribble | chayce | Basketball | 1 | Fri Dec 12, 2003 12:17pm | 
| 3 seconds on interrupted dribble? | just another ref | Basketball | 11 | Thu Nov 13, 2003 06:11pm | 
| Interrupted dribble | force39 | Basketball | 10 | Wed Mar 12, 2003 03:20pm |