The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
I re-read the dribble definition, "bat or push to the floor". The interrupted dribbler can not touch or bat the ball to the floor without it being a dribble, however they could tip/bat the ball to a teammate, or the ball could bounce off of them (leg or hip) for example while touching OOB.

(I know this is very unlikely in developed ball players.) I am just wondering.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 03:42pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Are you asking that if during an interrupted dribble, the dribbler attempts to recover the ball but is standing on an OOB while simultaneously touching/tipping the ball... is that legal?

As in A1 while dribbling momentarily loses the ball. While attempting to recover the ball A1 is standing on a OOB line & contacts the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town View Post
Are you asking that if during an interrupted dribble, the dribbler attempts to recover the ball but is standing on an OOB while simultaneously touching/tipping the ball... is that legal?

As in A1 while dribbling momentarily loses the ball. While attempting to recover the ball A1 is standing on a OOB line & contacts the ball?
See post #4 in this thread.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 03:52pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
that's what thought you were asking & in that case see post #7
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 03:44pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
...or the ball could bounce off of them (leg or hip) for example while touching OOB.
Which would cause and official to blow his/her whistle, raise an open palm to the sky, followed by a point and poclamation of a color other than that worn by the dribbler.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Oct 17, 2008 at 03:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 03:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Which would cause and official to blow his/her whistle, raise an open palm to the sky, followed by a point and poclamation of a color other than that worn by the dribbler.
Where do the rules say you are correct in making that call in light of the 6d exception?
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 04:03pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
7-1-2(a) 1
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 04:06pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
I re-read the dribble definition, "bat or push to the floor". The interrupted dribbler can not touch or bat the ball to the floor without it being a dribble, however they could tip/bat the ball to a teammate, or the ball could bounce off of them (leg or hip) for example while touching OOB.

(I know this is very unlikely in developed ball players.) I am just wondering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
Where do the rules say you are correct in making that call in light of the 6d exception?
A person who is standing OOB (except during a throw-in) commits a violation when they touch the ball. There is no exception to that rule.

The exception you are referencing does not over-ride that fundamental rule.

The exception you are referencing is there to differentiate from a dribbler who voluntarily goes OOB in betweens bats.

You are over-thinking the rule.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
A person who is standing OOB (except during a throw-in) commits a violation when they touch the ball. There is no exception to that rule.

The exception you are referencing does not over-ride that fundamental rule.

The exception you are referencing is there to differentiate from a dribbler who voluntarily goes OOB in betweens bats.

You are over-thinking the rule.
I am not over thinking this rule. I know what is intended by this rule. I should have worded my original question differently. My only question was:
Is there a rule or case play indicating this is illegal? Since no one came up this one that did not include OOB violation, which 6d says is excluded, I chalk this up to a minor error in the rules.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
It is, perhaps, a little vaguely worded. But I it seems that most of us understand that it's referring to 9-3-1 Note ("The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.").

Perhaps if it were worded thus: "d. The former dribbler does not commit an out-of-bounds violation if he/she steps on our outside a boundary while not touching the ball (See 9-1-3 Note)."
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 06:58pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
I am not over thinking this rule. I know what is intended by this rule. I should have worded my original question differently. My only question was:
Is there a rule or case play indicating this is illegal? Since no one came up this one that did not include OOB violation, which 6d says is excluded, I chalk this up to a minor error in the rules.

6d does not say a player with OOB status can touch the ball. The exception refers to a player leaving court who is not in contact with the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 08:11pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Did I See The Mythbusters Searchlight Image In The Sky ???

A little off topic, but just a reminder:

There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt. There is a three-second count during an interrupted dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 18, 2008, 12:34am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamIAm View Post
I am not over thinking this rule. I know what is intended by this rule. I should have worded my original question differently. My only question was:
Is there a rule or case play indicating this is illegal? Since no one came up this one that did not include OOB violation, which 6d says is excluded, I chalk this up to a minor error in the rules.

Consider the definition of an interrupted dribble. "the ball is loose" or "it momentarily gets away from the dribbler." When the dribbler touches the ball, it is no longer an interrupted dribble, so the out of bounds violation does apply.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
interrupted dribble Dbyb Basketball 3 Wed Feb 09, 2005 10:19am
Interrupted dribble MPLAHE Basketball 2 Sat Feb 05, 2005 02:40pm
3 Sec During Interrupted Dribble chayce Basketball 1 Fri Dec 12, 2003 12:17pm
3 seconds on interrupted dribble? just another ref Basketball 11 Thu Nov 13, 2003 06:11pm
Interrupted dribble force39 Basketball 10 Wed Mar 12, 2003 03:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1