The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 01:05pm
MPLAHE
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would like a clarification on the issue of an interrupted dribble

Rule 4.15.5 states ... An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.

Scenario - A1 is dribbling up court in his backcourt and dribbles the ball of his leg and the ball rolls 10 feet to his right. Does that mean, since there is not player control, he can pick up the ball and start his dribble over? Does it have to be deflected away from the dribbler by another dribbler?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
No, he cannot pick the ball up and dribble. Player control is not an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 05, 2005, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 93
He can go pick it up, or he can go continue his dribble without picking it up, but he can't pick it up and then dribble.
__________________
If you can't be kind, at least have the decency to be vague.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1