The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 06:57pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Peter Devana
Treat it like a fumble recovery as long as she doesn't dribble again she is ok- Remember the old D-F-D = BAD,but F-D-F=Good
Consider this-she dribbles down the floor .
, fumbles the ball then goes recovers the fumble and then passes or shoots. Ok eh!!! If the defenders let her do it and 10 seconds isn't called in the meantime everythings' great.
Pistol,
I can live with not making a deal of it.
But I will not tell anyone that the voluntary release was a fumble, because then the player can pass to themselves and never have to dribble.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 07:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 298
Wink

Mick
I AGREE!!!!
Pistol
__________________
Pistol
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef


I am really confused on this point. Why would it be a travel if she bent her knee, never contacting the floor, and than stood while holding the ball?
RecRef, it isn't traveling. Even if she contacted the floor, as long as she didn't pick the ball up before she stood, it still wouldn't be traveling.

Quote:
Originally posted by mick

Tony,
I am seeing a pass to herself.
She voluntarily released the ball, then tied her shoe, then picked up her pass to herself.
mick
Putting the ball on the floor is no more a pass than it is a dribble. I don't find a rule prohibiting it.

Quote:
Originally posted by Slider
So, she traveled if she went to a knee, rose and then recovered the ball (before someone else touched the ball).
Ah no, she didn't. This rule applies to a player who gains control of the ball while kneeling, sitting or lying on the floor.

As Padgett, if a player puts the ball on the floor, kneels and ties her shoe, stands, and then picks up the ball, she has not traveled.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 08:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 107
"Set the ball on the floor"--that is what the post reads. This means she put both hands on the ball ("I"m sure she didn't palm it"). Therefore her dribble had ended. So, if and when she released the ball (set the ball down on the floor), can she pick it back up without it being a double dribble ????
__________________
Trust me coach !!!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 08:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by APHP
"Set the ball on the floor"--that is what the post reads. This means she put both hands on the ball ("I"m sure she didn't palm it"). Therefore her dribble had ended. So, if and when she released the ball (set the ball down on the floor), can she pick it back up without it being a double dribble ????
Yes, in 4.43.5 Situations B, the player sets the ball down, gets up, picks the ball up and is called for traveling.

If setting the ball down was a dribble, then you wouldn't have a travel in 4.43.5 Situations B.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
APHP, yes, she can. Touching the ball to the floor does not constitute a dribble. 4-15-4 Note 3

This is not the same situation ase 4.43.5 B. in the case play, the player gained control of the ball while on the floor. He placed the ball on the floor, got up, and picked the ball up then to circumvent the rule.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Putting the ball on the floor is no more a pass than it is a dribble. I don't find a rule prohibiting it.
You are right, it isn't a dribble or a pass; it is equivalent to tossing the ball in the air while standing. If a player moves there pivot while doing that, then they have traveled.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I guess we'll have to disagree. This isn't a pass. As Padgett stated earlier, this is no different than an interrupted dribble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
I guess we'll have to disagree. This isn't a pass. As Padgett stated earlier, this is no different than an interrupted dribble.
Sorry to disagree: I'm afraid it is completely different from an interrupted dribble; an interrupted dribble is an accidental loss of control. You are allowed to move your feet during an interrupted dribble, you can't move your feet in this situation without traveling.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 09:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
You're misapplying the Case Book play but that's okay. The point is that there's no player control during either. Player control exists when a player is holding or dribbling a ball. In this case, she is doing neither.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
You're misapplying the Case Book play but that's okay. The point is that there's no player control during either. Player control exists when a player is holding or dribbling a ball. In this case, she is doing neither.
Is there player control while I stand and repeatedly bounce a ball upwards from my hand, i.e., during the time the ball is in the air?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Yes, this player still has player control. He may be tossing it into the air but, for control purposes, he essentially is still holding it.

But a player who puts the ball on the floor and ties her shoe, whether her knee touches the floor or not, does not have player control.

[Edited by BktBallRef on Jan 27th, 2002 at 08:47 PM]
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 09:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
But you said that there is only player control while holding and while dribbling; please explain why there is player control while tossing.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 09:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Slider
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
You're misapplying the Case Book play but that's okay. The point is that there's no player control during either. Player control exists when a player is holding or dribbling a ball. In this case, she is doing neither.
Is there player control while I stand and repeatedly bounce a ball upwards from my hand, i.e., during the time the ball is in the air?
Slider,
yup...nope...yup...nope...yup...nope...yup...nope. ...
mick
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
I'll let you study Rule 4 and make up your own mind.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1