Thread: No Call ?
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2002, 08:18pm
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef


I am really confused on this point. Why would it be a travel if she bent her knee, never contacting the floor, and than stood while holding the ball?
RecRef, it isn't traveling. Even if she contacted the floor, as long as she didn't pick the ball up before she stood, it still wouldn't be traveling.

Quote:
Originally posted by mick

Tony,
I am seeing a pass to herself.
She voluntarily released the ball, then tied her shoe, then picked up her pass to herself.
mick
Putting the ball on the floor is no more a pass than it is a dribble. I don't find a rule prohibiting it.

Quote:
Originally posted by Slider
So, she traveled if she went to a knee, rose and then recovered the ball (before someone else touched the ball).
Ah no, she didn't. This rule applies to a player who gains control of the ball while kneeling, sitting or lying on the floor.

As Padgett, if a player puts the ball on the floor, kneels and ties her shoe, stands, and then picks up the ball, she has not traveled.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote