Quote:
Originally posted by RecRef
I am really confused on this point. Why would it be a travel if she bent her knee, never contacting the floor, and than stood while holding the ball?
While I hate having to ask for rule and case book references I really need some help on this one.
|
Don't feel bad about asking for citations, it is difficult to tell sometimes who is BS-ing you; I've been guilty myself of that infraction, ONCE
I believe most of us are envisioning that she put her knee on the floor. So if we rule with that in mind, then the "correct" rulings here are based on 4.43.5 Situations B, C and D and on 4-43-5.
The Reader's Digest of those citations says that it is illegal to touch the floor with anything other than the foot or hand while holding the ball; and it is illegal to rise when you recover a ball (unless you are dribbling or you relinquish the ball until someone else touches it). The call is traveling for the illegal situations.
So, she traveled if she went to a knee, rose and then recovered the ball (before someone else touched the ball).
[Edited by Slider on Jan 27th, 2002 at 05:22 PM]