The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 10:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
It's a difference of opinion

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
No, they haven't because B committed an illegal act during the AP throw-in.
The illegal act happens AFTER A already collects on the AP. A still gets to take the ball out after the violation and will continue to until there is a legal throw-in or they suffer a 5 second call. Ergo, A suffers none by the violation. And they don't lose their AP as they already collected on it.
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 10:56am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
And they don't lose their AP as they already collected on it.
The arrow entitles them to an alternating possession throw-in, not just "possession" of the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. Since that throw-in wasn't completed, they didn't get what they're entitled to. So the next time the arrow is needed, they are still entitled to that throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 11:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
Yes, I understand

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The arrow entitles them to an alternating possession throw-in, not just "possession" of the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. Since that throw-in wasn't completed, they didn't get what they're entitled to. So the next time the arrow is needed, they are still entitled to that throw-in.
the spirit of this rule. I just don't agree with it. It's funny, for all that agree to this now, there was nary a debate of this prior ot the rule change. Regardless, I stand by my oath to enforce the rules as written.

Having said that, are all of you ready to assess Ts whenever a home player walks on the courts in a yellow home jersey?!
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.

Last edited by lmeadski; Sat Jul 28, 2007 at 11:39am.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 12:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
Having said that, are all of you ready to assess Ts whenever a home player walks on the courts in a yellow home jersey?!
If the rulebook and my state association say that it's a T, then I sure will. Teams have known about this upcoming change for several years now.

However, we have yet to see exactly how the rule will be worded when it goes into the book.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 02:09pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
You know what is amazing about this thread so far? "He who must not be named (my apologies to J.K. Rowling)" has not added his two cents yet.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
The illegal act happens AFTER A already collects on the AP. A still gets to take the ball out after the violation and will continue to until there is a legal throw-in or they suffer a 5 second call. Ergo, A suffers none by the violation. And they don't lose their AP as they already collected on it.
Tell me what would happen in this scenario.

Held ball, A has AP arrow. A1 has the ball for the AP throw-in, when B1 fouls A2. Now what do we do?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 03:14pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
It's funny, for all that agree to this now, there was nary a debate of this prior ot the rule change.
I don't think that's true, really. We've discussed this quite a bit, with similar arguments on each side.

Alternating Possession Arrow Change
Kick Ball on AP Throw-in
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The arrow entitles them to an alternating possession throw-in, not just "possession" of the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. Since that throw-in wasn't completed, they didn't get what they're entitled to. So the next time the arrow is needed, they are still entitled to that throw-in.
Lil' Scrappy comes through with the clutch explanation once again.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
At the risk of sounding foolish...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Tell me what would happen in this scenario.

Held ball, A has AP arrow. A1 has the ball for the AP throw-in, when B1 fouls A2. Now what do we do?
Here is what makes logical sense to me but may not be kosher with the rules, especially the new one:

1. A is in the bonus: A goes to the line and retains AP as they did not have a chance (or another chance) for a throw-in;
2. A is not in bonus: A throws-in again and AP goes to B following a legal throw-in.
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
I don't think that's true, really. We've discussed this quite a bit, with similar arguments on each side.

Alternating Possession Arrow Change
Kick Ball on AP Throw-in
I stand corrected. Thank you.
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 05:02pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Tell me what would happen in this scenario.

Held ball, A has AP arrow. A1 has the ball for the AP throw-in, when B1 fouls A2. Now what do we do?
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
Here is what makes logical sense to me but may not be kosher with the rules, especially the new one:

1. A is in the bonus: A goes to the line and retains AP as they did not have a chance (or another chance) for a throw-in;
2. A is not in bonus: A throws-in again and AP goes to B following a legal throw-in.
In your answer #2, then what would be the penalty to team B for committing the foul? You'd have exactly the same result as if team B never committed the foul (except for another foul counting toward the bonus which would happen regardless of an AP situation).
__________________
Yom HaShoah

Last edited by Mark Padgett; Sat Jul 28, 2007 at 05:05pm.
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
In your answer #2, then what would be the penalty to team B for committing the foul? You'd have exactly the same result as if team B never committed the foul (except for another foul counting toward the bonus which would happen regardless of an AP situation).
Correct, the same as any other situation where B fouls A.
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
I've read through the old threads. There is credible evidence/situations discussed there that make sense of the new rule. The one in particular: A is granted ball via AP. B kicks ball on attempted throw-in.

Old rule: AP changes to B.
New Rule: AP stays with A.

On next attempted throw-in, team A fouls B before ball is legally entered. Under the old rule, B would get ball via the foul AND get next AP. Under new rule, B would get ball for foul, A would keep AP as they never had chance to complete the AP throw-in.

Thanks for helping me reason through.
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 28, 2007, 06:22pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
Correct, the same as any other situation where B fouls A.
My point is why should A lose the AP arrow if they get fouled by B before the throw-in is completed? The resulting throw-in is because of the foul and is not an AP throw-in, so A should retain the arrow, the same as if B kicked the inbound pass.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2007, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
Here is what makes logical sense to me but may not be kosher with the rules, especially the new one:

1. A is in the bonus: A goes to the line and retains AP as they did not have a chance (or another chance) for a throw-in;
2. A is not in bonus: A throws-in again and AP goes to B following a legal throw-in.
You are correct on #1.

You are wrong on #2, by rule and by logic. It makes no sense that you would allow A to keep the arrow if they shoot but not if they are not in the bonus.

I give up.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1