The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 08:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
New Rule

What is the new rule for AP? The example they used at our refs meeting was a bit confusing. They used this example: White is taking the ball out and has possession. On the throw-in, black kicks the ball (violation). At this point, under the old rule, AP would have converted to black. Under the new rule, white retains AP. Do I have this right? If it is true, isn't it a moot point? On the ensuing throw-in, AP would then change anyway (under the old rule, it would have already changed). I must be missing something (wont be the first time).
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.

Last edited by lmeadski; Thu Jul 26, 2007 at 08:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 08:47pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
New "AP Legal Touch" Rule/Different Interpretation

The arrow will NOT change after the second throw-in, because it's no longer an AP throw-in. The throw-in is due to a kicking violation, and the arrow doesn't change after a kicking violation.

So in your situation, White gets a new throw-in and then keeps the arrow after the throw-in is completed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
Explain further

Why would they retain possession? The second throw-in was successful. If they had been successful on the first throw-in (if black hadn't kicked it), possession would have changed. Why doesn't change on the success of the second throw-in? Is black being "penalized" for the kicking violation? THe AP should go back to black after white's throw in is legally touched. It seems that the result of this new rule is the same outcome as the old rule. Is there an example where this essentially changes the old rule? Or, is this just a non-clarifying clarification?
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.

Last edited by lmeadski; Thu Jul 26, 2007 at 08:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hurricane, WV
Posts: 800
Send a message via AIM to Mountaineer Send a message via Yahoo to Mountaineer
IMO, black violated before that AP was completed - therefore the second throw had nothing to do with the AP but was a throw-in for a violation.
__________________
Larry Ledbetter
NFHS, NCAA, NAIA

The best part about beating your head against the wall is it feels so good when you stop.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
You have to understand that the SECOND throw-in is NOT an AP throw-in. It is simply a throw-in awarded to a team because the opponent committed a violation (in this case a kicking violation).


Now once you accept that fact, you will agree that there is no reason to switch the arrow after the second throw-in. The AP arrow has nothing to do with this throw-in.

If someone kicked the ball during play and you blew the whistle and administered a throw-in, would you want to switch the arrow at the end of that throw-in? Of course not. The principle is the same here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2007, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
You have to understand that the SECOND throw-in is NOT an AP throw-in. It is simply a throw-in awarded to a team because the opponent committed a violation (in this case a kicking violation).


Now once you accept that fact, you will agree that there is no reason to switch the arrow after the second throw-in. The AP arrow has nothing to do with this throw-in.

If someone kicked the ball during play and you blew the whistle and administered a throw-in, would you want to switch the arrow at the end of that throw-in? Of course not. The principle is the same here.
Ergo, black is penalized for the violation. Had they NOT kicked the initial throw in, AP would have changed. Correct?
__________________
All of us learn to write in the second grade. Most of us go on to greater things.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 27, 2007, 07:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia Area, PA
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmeadski
Why would they retain possession? The second throw-in was successful. If they had been successful on the first throw-in (if black hadn't kicked it), possession would have changed. Why doesn't change on the success of the second throw-in? Is black being "penalized" for the kicking violation? THe AP should go back to black after white's throw in is legally touched. It seems that the result of this new rule is the same outcome as the old rule. Is there an example where this essentially changes the old rule? Or, is this just a non-clarifying clarification?
I don't have the rule book to cite the exact rule, but i believe the AP arrow changes when the ball is legally touched on the court (i.e. when the throw in ends). If black kicks the ball, it is a violation (i.e. not legal touching) so the AP arrow would not change after the first or 2nd throw in for white.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule 1, The Forgotten Rule TxJim Football 14 Thu Jan 04, 2007 07:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1