The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by soclueless
Saturday, after my team had been fouled (non-shooting) and the ball was put back in play, the table informed the stripes that we'd just been fouled for the 8th time and I hadn't shot 1-1 for foul 7 or 8. Is this a "correctable error"? Just what type of a thing is? Any general rule?
Not awarding merited FTs is a correctable error. However, there is a specified time limit in which this error may be corrected. After that passes it is too late. It is likely that it is too late to give your team the bonus FTs for the 7th team foul, but it is probably still within the time frame to award the FTs for the 8th foul.

Here's the rule:
RULE 2
SECTION 10 CORRECTABLE ERRORS
ART. 1 . . . Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
ART. 2 . . . In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
ART. 3 . . . If in Article 1e the error is made while the clock is running and the ball dead, it must be recognized by an official before the second live ball.
ART. 4 . . . If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong
basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled.
ART. 5 . . . Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. Errors because of free-throw attempts by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by applying 8-1 and 2.
ART. 6 . . . If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correctable?? tarheelcoach Baseball 4 Wed Mar 08, 2006 04:38pm
Correctable force39 Basketball 5 Thu Jan 19, 2006 12:34am
Correctable or not?? ref18 Basketball 3 Sun Feb 06, 2005 12:55pm
correctable or not rgaudreau Basketball 9 Thu Mar 07, 2002 01:49pm
Correctable or not PP Basketball 16 Fri Nov 09, 2001 04:16am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1