Thread: correctable?
View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 22, 2007, 06:21pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by soclueless
Saturday, after my team had been fouled (non-shooting) and the ball was put back in play, the table informed the stripes that we'd just been fouled for the 8th time and I hadn't shot 1-1 for foul 7 or 8. Is this a "correctable error"? Just what type of a thing is? Any general rule?
Not awarding merited FTs is a correctable error. However, there is a specified time limit in which this error may be corrected. After that passes it is too late. It is likely that it is too late to give your team the bonus FTs for the 7th team foul, but it is probably still within the time frame to award the FTs for the 8th foul.

Here's the rule:
RULE 2
SECTION 10 CORRECTABLE ERRORS
ART. 1 . . . Officials may correct an error if a rule is inadvertently set aside and results in:
a. Failure to award a merited free throw.
b. Awarding an unmerited free throw.
c. Permitting a wrong player to attempt a free throw.
d. Attempting a free throw at the wrong basket.
e. Erroneously counting or canceling a score.
ART. 2 . . . In order to correct any of the officials' errors listed in Article 1, such error must be recognized by an official no later than during the first dead ball after the clock has properly started.
ART. 3 . . . If in Article 1e the error is made while the clock is running and the ball dead, it must be recognized by an official before the second live ball.
ART. 4 . . . If the error is a free throw by the wrong player or at the wrong
basket, or the awarding of an unmerited free throw, the free throw and the activity during it, other than unsporting, flagrant, intentional or technical fouls, shall be canceled.
ART. 5 . . . Points scored, consumed time and additional activity, which may occur prior to the recognition of an error, shall not be nullified. Errors because of free-throw attempts by the wrong player or at the wrong basket shall be corrected by applying 8-1 and 2.
ART. 6 . . . If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point of interruption to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).
Reply With Quote