The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:17pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
NCAA 9-12-5.
During a throw-in when the ball is located out of bounds and adjacent to either a front-court or back-court boundary line, an inbounds player in the front court who is not in control of the ball may cause the ball to go into the back court.

What's your NFHS ruling, Nevada? Do you agree that this batting equates passing, which equates team control, which results in a violation?
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
What's your NFHS ruling, Nevada? Do you agree that this batting equates passing, which equates team control, which results in a violation?
A ball that is batted remains in team control of the team last in control. If team control has not been established yet, a batted ball has no team control. There is no team control on a throw-in. Team control is established when a player gains control of the ball. Batting a ball that is in control of neither team does not establish team control.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:38pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
What's your NFHS ruling, Nevada? Do you agree that this batting equates passing, which equates team control, which results in a violation?
Um...you may want to read NFHS case book play 4.12.6 Also see case book play 4.19.7SitC which states that there's no team control following a deflected ball during a throw-in.

You're wrong.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Thu Dec 07, 2006 at 01:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:41pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
A ball that is batted remains in team control of the team last in control. If team control has not been established yet, a batted ball has no team control. There is no team control on a throw-in. Team control is established when a player gains control of the ball. Batting a ball that is in control of neither team does not establish team control.
If I bat a ball to a teammate, this doesn't establish team control? A bat is a pass.

And where is "establishing" team control covered in the rule book? It simply states what player control is, and what team control is. I can't find anything that says anything to the effect of "there cannot be team control until there is player control," although it seems logical.

4-12-2 A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble. I read this as meaning if a player passes the ball to a teammate, regardless of what was happening previously, that there is team control.

I could be completely wrong, as I often am on here, but I think the case for team control in this situation is stronger that the case for no team control, by NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:46pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um...you may want to read NFHS case book play 4.12.6

You're wrong.
I see what you're saying here Jurassic. I mentioned this case play earlier in the thread, but I wasn't thinking it applied to an intentional bat from a player to a teammate. I read the case play as A2 is trying to catch/deflecting the ball, not batting it to a teammate.

But since the case play doesn't specify what type of "touching" is going on, I guess I'll defer.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:50pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um...you may want to read NFHS case book play 4.12.6 Also see case book play 4.19.7SitC which states that there's no team control following a deflected ball during a throw-in.

You're wrong.
And to go off-track, doesn't the language of 4.12.6 and 4.19.7.D contradict each other? I remember a thread from not too long ago where Nevada and I think you and others were debating the whole "when does the throw-in end" deal, regarding to the throw-in being touched/deflected. 4.12.6 says the throw-in ended when the player touched the ball, but 4.19.7.D implies that even after the touch, the throw-in is still occuring during the foul that follows the touch.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:13pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Exclamation I've Got It!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Um...you may want to read NFHS case book play 4.12.6 Also see case book play 4.19.7SitC which states that there's no team control following a deflected ball during a throw-in.

You're wrong.
To use my own logic, touching precedes batting, so the the two case book situations are completely applicable.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:15pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
4-12-2 A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble. I read this as meaning if a player passes the ball to a teammate, regardless of what was happening previously, that there is team control.
If your interpretation were correct, Hawkeye, then there would be team control during a throw-in as soon as the inbounder released the throw-in pass. But that dog don't hunt.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
4-12 ART. 2 . . . A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble.

4-31 PASS
A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats, or rolls the ball to another player.


Sit. 4.12.6 gets close to addressing this, but not quite, IMO, because it is talking about a "touch," as opposed to an intentional redirecting of the ball toward a teammate (bat = pass). So I'm inclined to think that this is a pass, and that constitutes team control.

Thoughts?
My thought (with regard to NFHS): Play control cannot be established by a bat, so team control cannot be established by a bat. No team control = no backcourt violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:21pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
If your interpretation were correct, Hawkeye, then there would be team control during a throw-in as soon as the inbounder released the throw-in pass. But that dog don't hunt.
No there wouldn't, because 4-12-6 says that there's no team control during a throw-in. 4-12-6 is a qualifier for 4-12-2.

My (albeit incorrect) interpretation, cleared up by the two case plays earlier mentioned, was based on the rule set as a whole - I wasn't trying to pick and choose which rules to base it off of from the book.
Reply With Quote
  #41 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
- I wasn't trying to pick and choose which rules to base it off of from the book...
Why did you bring the book that you know I don't like to be read out of up for?
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:24pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
My thought (with regard to NFHS): Play control cannot be established by a bat, so team control cannot be established by a bat. No team control = no backcourt violation.
I know Snaq, and I think you're right. My reasoning around that at the time was that the book doesn't ever say, verbatim, that there must be player control before there can be team control.

Anyhoo, I'm all straight on it now.
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Why did you bring the book that you know I don't like to be read out of up for?
Now my brain hurts.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 02:27pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
Why did you bring the book that you know I don't like to be read out of up for?
I'm lost. You don't like to be read the NFHS Rule Book?
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
I'm lost. You don't like to be read the NFHS Rule Book?
No. It's improper grammar to end a sentence with a preposition. Rainmaker was just ending a sentence with four of them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt Violation? New2AZref Basketball 14 Mon May 01, 2006 10:51pm
Backcourt violation? vawils Basketball 4 Mon Dec 12, 2005 09:23am
Backcourt Violation BroD Basketball 15 Mon Mar 15, 2004 10:51am
Backcourt violation? mrt1963 Basketball 7 Mon Dec 08, 2003 04:53pm
Backcourt Violation? Sleeper Basketball 10 Mon Dec 09, 2002 04:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1