View Single Post
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2006, 01:41pm
HawkeyeCubP HawkeyeCubP is offline
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty
A ball that is batted remains in team control of the team last in control. If team control has not been established yet, a batted ball has no team control. There is no team control on a throw-in. Team control is established when a player gains control of the ball. Batting a ball that is in control of neither team does not establish team control.
If I bat a ball to a teammate, this doesn't establish team control? A bat is a pass.

And where is "establishing" team control covered in the rule book? It simply states what player control is, and what team control is. I can't find anything that says anything to the effect of "there cannot be team control until there is player control," although it seems logical.

4-12-2 A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team is in control, while a live ball is being passed among teammates and during an interrupted dribble. I read this as meaning if a player passes the ball to a teammate, regardless of what was happening previously, that there is team control.

I could be completely wrong, as I often am on here, but I think the case for team control in this situation is stronger that the case for no team control, by NFHS rules.
Reply With Quote