The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/29950-backcourt-violation.html)

yankeesfan Tue Dec 05, 2006 09:21pm

backcourt violation?
 
team A has the ball in the backcourt, he passes the ball and a player from team A jumps from the frontcourt and catches the ball in the air and then lands in the backcourt. is this is a backcourt violation?

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 05, 2006 09:44pm

Yes.<i></i>

PYRef Tue Dec 05, 2006 09:54pm

Also...
A player from Team A has the ball in his frontcourt. He passes the ball and a player from team A jumps from the backcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the frontcourt.....tweet! Violation :).

The location of an airborne player with reference to the backcourt is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor.

tjones1 Tue Dec 05, 2006 11:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
Also...
A player from Team A has the ball in his frontcourt. He passes the ball and a player from team A jumps from the backcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the frontcourt.....tweet! Violation :).

The location of an airborne player with reference to the backcourt is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor.

I saw this exact thing happen tonight.

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 06, 2006 08:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PYRef
A player from Team A has the ball in his frontcourt. He passes the ball and a player from team A jumps from the backcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the frontcourt.....tweet! Violation :).

You could tweet that even before he lands.

Scrapper1 Wed Dec 06, 2006 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally Posted by yankeesfan
team A has the ball in the backcourt, he passes the ball and a player from team A jumps from the frontcourt and catches the ball in the air and then lands in the backcourt. is this is a backcourt violation?

Yes.<i></i>

What? You're not gonna tell him he's wise beyond his years? :rolleyes:

Ignats75 Wed Dec 06, 2006 09:27am

What about if its the inbound play to start the 2d quarter? Since its an inbounds play, does A2 have front court status before the ball is inbounded or not?

Jurassic Referee Wed Dec 06, 2006 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
What? You're not gonna tell him he's wise beyond his years? :rolleyes:

That was taken for granted because of his screen name...

bob jenkins Wed Dec 06, 2006 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
What about if its the inbound play to start the 2d quarter? Since its an inbounds play, does A2 have front court status before the ball is inbounded or not?

A2 (assuming that A2 is not the inbounder) has either FC or BC status before the throwin. But, the ball doesn't have that status, and there's no team control yet, and there's the "exception" for an airborne player receiving the inbounds pass ... and since I don't know exactly which play you're talking about, I can't give a correct ruling.

Nu1 Wed Dec 06, 2006 09:55am

Throw-in question
 
I believe this was discussed on a recent thread. If so, could someone kindly post the link...or recap this for me. (Yes, you could post it rudely also.)

On a throw-in, A1 is out of bounds and throws to A2 who is airborne having jumped from the front court. While airborne, A2 passes the ball to A3 who is in the backcourt.
Violation NFHS?
Violation NCAA?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 06, 2006 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nu1
I believe this was discussed on a recent thread. If so, could someone kindly post the link...or recap this for me. (Yes, you could post it rudely also.)

On a throw-in, A1 is out of bounds and throws to A2 who is airborne having jumped from the front court. While airborne, A2 passes the ball to A3 who is in the backcourt.
Violation NFHS?
Violation NCAA?

NFHS: Violation
NCAA: Legal (so I've been told, and I accept, but I have a hard time "proving" it in the book)

Nu1 Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:11am

Thanks Bob.

I've been told / read the same for NCAA, but I can't figure it out myself. Rule 9-12.8 says on a throw-in or jump ball an airborne player who secures control of the ball in the front court shall not be permitted to cause the ball to go into the back court. The only exception listed is the defensive player going airborne...intercepting a pass...and landing in the back court. (Of course 9-12.7 says an offensive player can secure and land in the back court off of a throw-in or jump ball.)

But I can't see how the scenario of A1 out of bounds...throwing it in to airborne A2 (from the front court)...who throws it to A3 in the back court is legal.

Ignats75 Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:53am

I had a play last night. Start of the quarter. A1 passes the ball to A2 who jumps from the front court, catches the ball while in the air and lands in the back court. I blew the whistle and called a backcourt violation thinking that A2 had already established his position in the front court when he caught the ball and had not established his posiition in the back court (which would've been legal if he was already there).

An assignor that I work for happened to be at the game and came into the locker room afterwards and said I should've not called that, that it was a legal play as it was an inbounds play. I had enough sense not to debate it, but I've been thinking about it today at work and thought I 'd run it by the best source other than the books themselves....you folks.

bob jenkins Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75
I had a play last night. Start of the quarter. A1 passes the ball to A2 who jumps from the front court, catches the ball while in the air and lands in the back court. I blew the whistle and called a backcourt violation thinking that A2 had already established his position in the front court when he caught the ball and had not established his posiition in the back court (which would've been legal if he was already there).

An assignor that I work for happened to be at the game and came into the locker room afterwards and said I should've not called that, that it was a legal play as it was an inbounds play. I had enough sense not to debate it, but I've been thinking about it today at work and thought I 'd run it by the best source other than the books themselves....you folks.

AS discussed previously in this thread, it's not a violation. It's one of the specific "exceptions" (now in the rule) in the backcouort violation section of rule 9.

Ignats75 Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:57am

Thanks Bob.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1