The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 07, 2003, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1
A1 is dribling with her right foot in the front court and left foot in the back court. A1 picks-up her left foot and returns it to the floor in the backcourt.

Is this a violation? Why or why not?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 07, 2003, 06:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
As long as she remains a dribbler, she must establish three points in the front court. Both feet and the ball must touch the front court before she has established front court position. If she picks up her dribble while her left foot (in this case) is in the air, and then puts the foot down, it's a violatin. As written, however, your scenario is not a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: S.E. Iowa
Posts: 284
Quote:
Originally posted by mrt1963
A1 is dribling with her right foot in the front court and left foot in the back court. A1 picks-up her left foot and returns it to the floor in the backcourt.

Is this a violation? Why or why not?
Don't know yet, has she achieved front court status yet?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
I find that back-court violations are one of the least understood by the "crowd".

Amazing how they view the midcourt stripe like an out-of- bounds line - just a touch makes it in play.

Great to always remember the THREE points - both feet and the ball need to PASS the line to reach front court status, and drop the ten count.

Coming back (after front court status reached) its become any touching of the line by any of the "points".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy
Great to always remember the THREE points
As long as you also remember that it only applies to the dribbler.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 04:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally posted by mrt1963
A1 is dribling with her right foot in the front court and left foot in the back court. A1 picks-up her left foot and returns it to the floor in the backcourt.

Is this a violation? Why or why not?
This reads like case book 4.4.1. If so, it's a backcourt violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally posted by wizard
Quote:
Originally posted by mrt1963
A1 is dribling with her right foot in the front court and left foot in the back court. A1 picks-up her left foot and returns it to the floor in the backcourt.

Is this a violation? Why or why not?
This reads like case book 4.4.1. If so, it's a backcourt violation.
Keep in mind the question referenced A1 dribbling the ball. Case 4.4.1 involves a non-dribbler and therefore does not apply to the scenario that was questioned.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 08, 2003, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 216
I stand corrected. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1