|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			You also have to determine whether the player saved it from going out of bounds with a "controlled" save or a "batted" save. A controlled save is used in college to determine a reset of the shot clock in some instances and would also be used to determine if it would constitute a dribble. A batted save would not reset the shot clock and would not be considered a dribble, but for the most part we are not going to microdot and not let the player dribble on a save.  If JTRICE ever gives the answer this could turn into a good discussion. Let's please stay on topic though and not get off on some tangent about making fun of someone. That seems to be happening alot or at least since I have started posting. Not meaning to be negative.   | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Did you read the case play? It stated "A1 catches the ball while in the air and tosses it back...". If the player caught the ball and then threw it back, the player (1) established player control with the catch, and (2) started a dribble with the toss. Rules 4-12-1 and 4-15-1. Iow, the case play already told us that it was a controlled save. And....off topic... please don't tell anyone here how or what to post. That's up to the moderators', not you or anyone else-including me. Also not meaning to be negative. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 Jurassic I never told anyone how nor what to post. I just politefully asked that we stay on the topic of basketball without putting up cute pictures and talking about eating popcorn, correcting grammar, and other cute anecdotes that seem to make it into the threads, when indeed the topic is basketball officiating. Threads could be alot shorter and people's amounts of posts would be a ton less. I don't mean to start a fight, just felt like I should let it be known, although by the amount of post I have it doesn't give me that much credibility or believeability to the rest of the big timers on the forum. I did read the post and I was just throwing in my two cents about how we, as officials, need to recognize the difference between the two saves. I know it was off topic a little bit from the main thread point, but it was still within the realm of basketball officiating. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 The answer to your question above then is "No, everybody will continue to post what they want...and the moderators will sort 'em out".   | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
   | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
    Quote: 
 
				__________________ Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Why would this necessarilly be considered an interrupted dribble?  The case doesn't say how long the player is out of bounds before returning and continuing the dribble.   Conceivably, this could be the same dribble - player saves the ball, steps out, comes back in and dribbles before the ball bounces a second time - the ball has never been out of the player's control. If you would you still contend that this is an interrupted dribble, what is the basis for that? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 I imagine the play as follows: A1 and A2 in the backcourt, all the other players are in A's frontcourt. A1 passes to A2, who isn't looking and is running towards the frontcourt. A1 sees their pass about to go OOB, and saves it. Since all the other players aren't close, A1 comes back inbounds and retrieves the ball. 
				__________________ M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			M&M...I would say your play is an illegal dribble.  The first thrown ball (pass to A2 that didn't touch anyone and was bouncing out of bounds) was actually a dribble.   1. If A1 dribbled first...ended the dribble...threw the ball towards A2...and then ran after the ball and grabbed it to save it from going out of bounds...it would be an illegal dribble as soon as A1 grabbed the ball. 2. If A1 never used the dribbled...threw the ball towards A2...then ran after the ball and saved it by throwing it in bounds...and returned inbounds and touched the ball again before anyone else...it would be an illegal dribble when A1 touched the ball upon returning. I hope that makes sense. It sounds confusing while I type it.   | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 So....basically you're saying that the case play is wrong and you're right too, same as JTrice? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 I know the image is of a player leaping out of bounds and recovering the ball after a heroic effort. Change the picture to a player tip-toeing in and out of bounds and tell me why it's the same ruling? Logically, if the player has never lost control of the ball then it's not an interrupted dribble. If the player saves the ball, steps out of bounds with one foot, then steps back in, then the dribble hasn't been interrupted, since the ball has always been under the player's control. Is there another definition that I'm missing here? | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 
				__________________ "...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  | 
|  Similar Threads | ||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Correct Mechanics on Pick-Off Play | WestMichBlue | Softball | 12 | Thu Jan 13, 2005 05:31pm | 
| Case Play | ejstuart | Soccer | 3 | Thu Apr 22, 2004 12:43am | 
| Case book play | tempestos | Football | 18 | Sun Nov 16, 2003 07:24pm | 
| What about Case Play 10.8-1? | Dakota | Softball | 4 | Sun Nov 16, 2003 01:54pm | 
| FED case play 8.1.1L | David Emerling | Baseball | 5 | Sat Mar 15, 2003 12:58am |