The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 12:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by smoref
This didn't happen to me but was brought up in the locker room.

.3 second left in game Team A has ball OOB in front court. They are down by 1 point. A1 throws the ball toward the basket. Player B1 jumps up deflects the ball. The ball goes off the backboard, time expires, then the ball goes in the basket.

Do you count the basket?
Basket is good!!!!

I am going to take you through why. Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".

The situation in casebook refers you to rule 4-41-4. However, you must also take a look at art..6 which will refer you to 5-2-5 which covers .3 second or less.

Bottom line basket is good!!!!

Better try the top line then. A basket only counts if the ball is live when it passes throught the basket. The ball is dead when the horn sounds unless it is in the air on a try/tap. A try or tap can only occur by a team attempting to put the ball in their own basket.
Ok, I am wrong. It is not a legitimate try or tap.

No Basket!!!!!!
And you just became a better official.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jan 20th, 2006 at 03:06 AM]
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 270
Quote:
Originally posted by JRutledge
You cannot call 3 seconds at that point of the game.

Sorry, wrong post.

Peace
He posted... .3



Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 12:38am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Thank you everyone. I've been working it over in my head since leaving the office and I concur with your explanations.

I did think of one other thing (which is extremely silly, but it could happen, and I'd be suprised if there hasn't ever been a case written about it): Gym or arena with high ceiling - A is ahead by one or two points - A1, in a celebratory display, heaves the ball up into the air after receiving the inbounds pass in A's backcourt - ball is released prior to horn sounding, and subsequently goes through B's basket. No points awarded, I suppose. But I wouldn't want to have to explain it to B's head coach, who would've undoubtedly seen it.

Anyone ever seen or read of anything like that?

Thank you again to everyone for your responses.

Respectfully submitted,
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 01:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
A reading from the book of . . .

6-7 NOTE:

"If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching . . . "
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 03:32am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Re: A reading from the book of . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
6-7 NOTE:

"If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching . . . "
Exactly. And if it ain't a "try or tap", like...maybe if it's a throw-in instead, then it doesn't count. Which is what everybody has been saying.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 09:33am
MABO Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MB, Canada
Posts: 796
Re: Re: A reading from the book of . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
6-7 NOTE:

"If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching . . . "
Exactly. And if it ain't a "try or tap", like...maybe if it's a throw-in instead, then it doesn't count. Which is what everybody has been saying.

Or a "celebratory toss in the air". - Not a try so no basket.
__________________
"Your Azz is the Red Sea, My foot is Moses, and I am about to part the Red Sea all the way up to my knee!"

All references/comments are intended for educational purposes. Opinions are free.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
How do you handle this situation in the casebook? Is it any different?

Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by smoref
This didn't happen to me but was brought up in the locker room.

.3 second left in game Team A has ball OOB in front court. They are down by 1 point. A1 throws the ball toward the basket. Player B1 jumps up deflects the ball. The ball goes off the backboard, time expires, then the ball goes in the basket.

Do you count the basket?
Basket is good!!!!

I am going to take you through why. Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".

The situation in casebook refers you to rule 4-41-4. However, you must also take a look at art..6 which will refer you to 5-2-5 which covers .3 second or less.

Bottom line basket is good!!!!

Better try the top line then. A basket only counts if the ball is live when it passes throught the basket. The ball is dead when the horn sounds unless it is in the air on a try/tap. A try or tap can only occur by a team attempting to put the ball in their own basket.
Ok, I am wrong. It is not a legitimate try or tap.

No Basket!!!!!!
And you just became a better official.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Jan 20th, 2006 at 03:06 AM]
That is the objective! Thanks Nevada
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 10:10am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
How do you handle this situation in the casebook? Is it any different?

Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".
That situation is different in that there's no horn going off before the ball went through in that case play, thus making the ball dead. That's exactly why there's no basket in the play that we've been discussing.

It's two completely different situations that are still using the same principle-- i.e. a tipped throw-in is not a tap or try.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Re: Re: A reading from the book of . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
6-7 NOTE:

"If A1's try or tap is legally touched in flight, the goal counts if made, if the horn sounds before or after the legal touching . . . "
Exactly. And if it ain't a "try or tap", like...maybe if it's a throw-in instead, then it doesn't count. Which is what everybody has been saying.
Exactly.
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 12:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally posted by smoref
This didn't happen to me but was brought up in the locker room.

.3 second left in game Team A has ball OOB in front court. They are down by 1 point. A1 throws the ball toward the basket. Player B1 jumps up deflects the ball. The ball goes off the backboard, time expires, then the ball goes in the basket.

Do you count the basket?
No basket and here is why.

4-41 defines shooting, try or tap for goal. Since B1 deflected an inbounds pass towards A's basket, this does not qualify as a try or tap for goal by B1.

6-7 defines when a ball becomes dead with 6-7-6 becoming the important article (the period ending)

5-1-1 says a goal can only be counted when a live ball enters the goal from above.

So, the ball is dead when the period ends in this case and since the ball did not enter the basket before the end of the period, no basket is counted, even though the ball went through the goal after the horn ending the period.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 02:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
If it went into the home team's basket, you better run like hell after canceling it. Nobody in the gym is going to like it.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
How do you handle this situation in the casebook? Is it any different?

Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".
That situation is different in that there's no horn going off before the ball went through in that case play, thus making the ball dead. That's exactly why there's
no basket in the play that we've been discussing.

It's two completely different situations that are still using the same principle-- i.e. a tipped throw-in is not a tap or try.
Thanks, J. Ref.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 03:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
How do you handle this situation in the casebook? Is it any different?

Look at casebook 5.2.1 Sit (D) this covers throwin after a "T".
That situation is different in that there's no horn going off before the ball went through in that case play, thus making the ball dead. That's exactly why there's
no basket in the play that we've been discussing.

It's two completely different situations that are still using the same principle-- i.e. a tipped throw-in is not a tap or try.

Thanks, JRef
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2006, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally posted by Texas Aggie
If it went into the home team's basket, you better run like hell after canceling it. Nobody in the gym is going to like it.
True, true, true.

This is all buried so deep down in the rulebook, I guarantee a reaction of epic proportions.

Can you imagine the reaction waving this off?


__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1