![]() |
|
|||
Ding wrong answer thank you for playong
I quote...
You can call this "Errorneous Information", but its still an error by the official. That's what correctable errors are. Correctable errors are not errors by the offical, they are specific and defined. Making an incorrect announcement about something is not a correctable error plain and simple. In your example you are not putting the ball back into play using POI. Your putting the ball back into play because the officials told players there was two shots, and turns out it was one and one... Since neither team went for the ball and so one team does not get an advantage thr rule writers put in the interp that you go with AP. If you went with POI modifying your example if one team rebounded the ball and another did not POI would give the ball back to the tam who rebounded it. But the ruling specifically states that you wont do that unless both teams went for ball and rebounded... As JR stated there has never been an unmerited free-throw awarded. in Case play 2.10.1 they use "award and announce" two FT's instead of one. In my mind this a a nuance that is there. If you awarded a team 2 FT's at scorer's table when reporting the foul (most likely the time you awarded the shots) but team was in bonus and you announce 1+1, and they play on did you have an unmerited FT that needs to be corrected under rule? I dont think so... I still think most of time you will find awarded means giving the player a shot he was not entitled to. In your scenarion tht never happened. Not all correctable errors use POI either. if you need to shoot a shot nd there has been no change of possession you go to the line and shoot and resume. it is an exception to POI You also have to remember that you cannot correct every mistake, you ask how this effects the game? If you attempt to correct every mistake thinking it is correctable you will eventually cost a team a game. You call a foul on the wrong player, not correctable! You give the ball to the wrong team after a time out, ball comes into play, not correctable. Awarding the wrong ball on AP is an error by the official but not correctable. Announce and have recorded in 1Q that A calls time out but it was really B, and someone asks at the next quarter break, not correctable. Put 5 seconds back on clock when you should have only put 4 not correctable... |
Bookmarks |
|
|