View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 31, 2005, 08:41am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green
TAke a look at the owrding of b again it states

"play is resumed by a FT or throw-in when the stoppage occurred during this activity"

You were the one who pointed out this exact verbage. You cant have it both ways since each one of these is mentioned in the section.

There is nothing in there about time of release.
Ok, here's my thought on this "verbiage", which is an absolute disaster. I have to agree with Kelvin on that. I'm going to make a very nit-picky point and it may sound overly lawyer-ish (it depends on what the meaning of "is" is), but I'm going to hang my hat on the word "stoppage".

If a double foul occurs while a FT is in flight, then the whistle sounds during the FT, but the stoppage isn't until the FT goes in or misses. In other words, the stoppage isn't actually during the FT. The only time the stoppage (as opposed to the whistle) would occur during the FT is after the ball is at the shooter's disposal, but before s/he releases the try.

This allows us to say that when the stoppage occurs during the FT (which means that the it has to occur while the shooter still has the ball), we resume with a FT. But if the whistle sounds while the FT is in the air, the stoppage doesn't actually occur during the FT, so we aren't required to resume with a FT.

How's that?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote