View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 02, 2005, 08:50am
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Sure it is

Awarding an unmerited free-throw is a correctable error. The official stepped in and said "2 shots" instead of 1-and-1. We've awarded them 2 shots. That is a correctable error. Now we can correct it before they take that 2nd shot or before the 2nd live ball.

In Case 8.6.1 it says the "officials recognize their error". What error was it? Awarding an unmerited free-throw, one of the correctable errors listed in 2-10. They corrected using the POI, which is a method of resuming play due to an official's accidental whistle, an interrupted game, a correctable error, a double personal foul, double technical or simultaneous foul. Which one of the above was the cause of them going to the POI to resume play? A correctable error. Why did they go to the AP throw-in? Because neither team was in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period was involved.

__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote