View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 31, 2005, 09:47pm
Kelvin green Kelvin green is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green
This would work for me on both!
It doesn't, tho. Because during the throw-in, the whistle causes the ball to become dead immediately; during a FT, the whistle doesn't cause the ball to become dead until the FT ends. During a throw-in, the whistle and stoppage occur at the same time.

So my "solution" only works for a FT.
So goes back to the original question. How do you apply both rules since they are in the same section using the same wording applying it consistently?

b. states play is resumed by throw-in when stoppage occurred during the activity...

c. states that you use AP when neither team is in control, and no goal, infraction or end of quarter is involved...

So when ball is in mid air on a throw-in and a double foul occurs. The stoppage occured during the throw-in while no one is in control.

AS you mention ball becomes dead immediately on the whistle. So the status of the ball is no team in control yet the throw-in has not ended....

I think the rules committee messed up on this one. If they wanted to treat this like pass when there is team control they should have told us. If you read the rule one way...literally you go back and shoot FT (again) because the stoppage happened before FT ended...

No hierarchy there, which trumps what?
Reply With Quote