The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 31, 2005, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust


My example meant to apply to a thrower still holding the ball...not a ball in flight.
Now that I've throught about it more, I believe, based on several examples, that it should apply to the ball in flight as well.

Example 1: AP Throwin given to wrong team (team B)...if whistle is blown before it is touched in bounds, it is given to the correct team (team A) for the deserved AP throwin. Why? The ball be came dead at a time when A was due a throwin. If the ball had been touched inbounds, it's too late.

Example 2: Throwin for violation is given to wrong team (team B). It can be fixed if the ball is blown dead before the throwin ends.

Both of the examples give precedence to the idea that until a throwin ends, a possession is due to one team or the other due to a prior infraction (or held ball).

So, if a ball is being thrown in by team A when a double foul occurs, team A will get the ball as a result of the POI. The POI was during the throwin so we resume with that throwin.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1