![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, I do have an issue if an official doesn't make a call for the wrong reason. In this case, I have to disagree with Camron and insist that by rule the ball is live when the player kicks it to his teammate. RULE 4 -- SECTION 41 THROW-IN, THROWER, DESIGNATED SPOT ART. 1 . . . The thrower is the player who attempts to make a throw-in. ART. 2 . . . A throw-in is a method of putting the ball in play from out of bounds. ART. 3 . . . The throw-in and the throw-in count begin when the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to it. RULE 4 -- SECTION 4 BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL ART. 7 . . . A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is: a. Handed to a thrower or free thrower. b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her. c. Placed on the floor at the spot. d. Available to a player after a goal. Since A1 is kicking the ball to his teammate A2 the ball is obviously available to A1. Thus the ball is at the disposal of a A1. Further, from 4-41-3 we know that the ball doesn't have to be at the disposal of the thrower, but merely ANY player of the throwing team for the throw-in and throw-in count to begin. Therefore, the time during which the ball was dead after the goal has passed and the ball is live at the time of the kick. As an official the only decision is whether or not you are going to call it. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|