The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 14, 2004, 01:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by betweenthelines
"A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws."

That clause in the sceniro makes it a correctible error. I think you need to brush up on 2-10. Read both 2-10in the NCAA and NFHS rule book. It is spelt out very simple in the NCAA book. The official awarded an "unmerited free throw" by telling them two throws.it applies here
I think that you need to brush up on your understanding of rule book terminology. There sureashell WASN"T an unmerited FT taken. The FT that was taken was the FIRST FT. Whether its 1/1 or 2 shots, you're ALWAYS gonna legally get that first FT- so there's NO way that it can be called unmerited.
It sounds like b.t.l. thinks that by saying "two shots" the official is awarding two shots, so it appears that the second one has already been awarded. I admit, this is a beguiling interpretation, because it makes 2.10 applicable, but I'm with you, Woody, that I don't think it works out. There's no way to interpret 2.10 to come up with a reasonable procedure for correcting. Besides, BktBallRef already said that a different procedure was correct.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1