Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by betweenthelines
"A1 is awarded one free throw but the official erroneously tells the players that A1 will shoot two free throws."
That clause in the sceniro makes it a correctible error. I think you need to brush up on 2-10. Read both 2-10in the NCAA and NFHS rule book. It is spelt out very simple in the NCAA book. The official awarded an "unmerited free throw" by telling them two throws.it applies here
|
I think that you need to brush up on your understanding of rule book terminology. There sureashell WASN"T an unmerited FT taken. The FT that was taken was the FIRST FT. Whether its 1/1 or 2 shots, you're ALWAYS gonna legally get that first FT- so there's NO way that it can be called unmerited.
|
It sounds like b.t.l. thinks that by saying "two shots" the official is awarding two shots, so it appears that the second one has already been awarded. I admit, this is a beguiling interpretation, because it makes 2.10 applicable, but I'm with you, Woody, that I don't think it works out. There's no way to interpret 2.10 to come up with a reasonable procedure for correcting. Besides, BktBallRef already said that a different procedure was correct.