The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to OldCoachNewRef
A1 rises to attemp a jump shot. B1 rises with A1 and blocks the shot out of A1's hands. While A1 and the ball are still in the air, A1 recovers the ball, comes back to the floor and starts a new dribble. Official rules the play is legal. Is the official correct?

This was a test question in class. Having just read through the case book I answered No. I got the question wrong.

4.43.3 sit A: A1 jumps to try for a goal. B1 also jumps and... (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball...
Ruling: ....In (c) a travelling violation.

My question, is there a difference between a block and a touch? Is this up to the judgement of the official?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
A1 rises to attemp a jump shot. B1 rises with A1 and blocks the shot out of A1's hands. While A1 and the ball are still in the air, A1 recovers the ball, comes back to the floor and starts a new dribble. Official rules the play is legal. Is the official correct?

This was a test question in class. Having just read through the case book I answered No. I got the question wrong.

4.43.3 sit A: A1 jumps to try for a goal. B1 also jumps and... (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball...
Ruling: ....In (c) a travelling violation.

My question, is there a difference between a block and a touch? Is this up to the judgement of the official?
I suppose you might say the difference is whether the ball left the shooter's hands. In your test question, it did. In the case book, it sounds as though it didn't.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 05:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to OldCoachNewRef
4.43..3

Why wouldn't the touch then be a jump ball?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
A1 rises to attemp a jump shot. B1 rises with A1 and blocks the shot out of A1's hands. While A1 and the ball are still in the air, A1 recovers the ball, comes back to the floor and starts a new dribble. Official rules the play is legal. Is the official correct?

This was a test question in class. Having just read through the case book I answered No. I got the question wrong.

4.43.3 sit A: A1 jumps to try for a goal. B1 also jumps and... (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball...
Ruling: ....In (c) a travelling violation.

My question, is there a difference between a block and a touch? Is this up to the judgement of the official?
You have 3 possible calls on this play:

1. A1 shoots and B1 blocks it. Control for purposes of a travelling violation ENDED on the shot, so play on.

2. A1 goes up and B1 gets a hand(s) on the ball and stops the release of the ball on a try or pass. Held ball and go to arrow.

3. A1 goes up and B1 touches the ball, but does not stop the shot and A1 never releases the ball for a try, A1 returns to the floor for the old "up and down" travelling call.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Re: 4.43..3

Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
Why wouldn't the touch then be a jump ball?
The action by B getting a hand(s) on the ball keeps A1 from releasing the ball. A touch does not keep A1 from releasing the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to OldCoachNewRef
So the touch is while the player is in motion and not on the release in the casebook? Now it is beginning to make sense, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 05:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
A1 rises to attempt a jump shot. B1 rises with A1 and blocks the shot out of A1's hands before it's released. The ball now goes directly into the back court and A2 is the first player to touch it.
I changed the play a little. What's the call now?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 06:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
A1 rises to attempt a jump shot. B1 rises with A1 and blocks the shot out of A1's hands before it's released. The ball now goes directly into the back court and A2 is the first player to touch it.
I changed the play a little. What's the call now?
Did the blocked ball touch A1 after B1 hit it?

If it did not touch A1 post hit, I've got nothing. If it did touch A1 I have a back court violation on A2.

Team A maintains team control until a try is released, so we have a last to touch-first to touch situation with either B1 to A2 with nothing or A1 to A2 and a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 07:02pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
A1 rises to attempt a jump shot. B1 rises with A1 and blocks the shot out of A1's hands before it's released. The ball now goes directly into the back court and A2 is the first player to touch it.
I changed the play a little. What's the call now?
Did the blocked ball touch A1 after B1 hit it?

BZ, B1 swatted the ball directly out of the shooter-A1's- hands before it left his hands on the try, and the blocked shot then didn't touch another player- including A1- before it went into the backcourt and was touched by A2.

Call?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2004, 07:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
A1 rises to attempt a jump shot. B1 rises with A1 and blocks the shot out of A1's hands before it's released. The ball now goes directly into the back court and A2 is the first player to touch it.
I changed the play a little. What's the call now?

let A2 "play on"; (begin a new 10 second count)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 01:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by OldCoachNewRef
A1 rises to attempt a jump shot. B1 rises with A1 and blocks the shot out of A1's hands before it's released. The ball now goes directly into the back court and A2 is the first player to touch it.
I changed the play a little. What's the call now?
Did the blocked ball touch A1 after B1 hit it?

BZ, B1 swatted the ball directly out of the shooter-A1's- hands before it left his hands on the try, and the blocked shot then didn't touch another player- including A1- before it went into the backcourt and was touched by A2.

Call?
I answered after my question, no loss of team control. B1 was the last to touch it in the FC and A2 first to touch it in the BC, so play on.

Why do I get the feeling there's some weird exception making this a BC violation.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 09:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,094
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray



let A2 "play on"; (begin a new 10 second count)
Note that the count should begin as soon as the ball reaches the BC, not when A2 touches the ball.

Had A1 released the ball on the try, then B2 swatted it into the BC, the count would begin when A2 controlled the ball.

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray



let A2 "play on"; (begin a new 10 second count)
Note that the count should begin as soon as the ball reaches the BC, not when A2 touches the ball.

Had A1 released the ball on the try, then B2 swatted it into the BC, the count would begin when A2 controlled the ball.

Why does the count start as soon as the ball reaches the backcourt?

I would think it wouldn't start until A2 touched it.

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 09:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,094
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray



let A2 "play on"; (begin a new 10 second count)
Note that the count should begin as soon as the ball reaches the BC, not when A2 touches the ball.

Had A1 released the ball on the try, then B2 swatted it into the BC, the count would begin when A2 controlled the ball.

Why does the count start as soon as the ball reaches the backcourt?

I would think it wouldn't start until A2 touched it.

Team A had control, the ball was in the BC ===> the count starts.

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 10:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Why does the count start as soon as the ball reaches the backcourt?

I would think it wouldn't start until A2 touched it.

[/B][/QUOTE]

Team A had control, the ball was in the BC ===> the count starts.

[/B][/QUOTE]

So you're saying that if the ball is blocked directly out of the shooter's hand then team A retains control, but if the shooter releases the shot and then it is blocked, team A is not in control until they regain possession of the ball?

Just trying to get a clarification.

Is the same true in other situations such as deflecting a pass, knocking a ball away from a dribbler, or what about deflecting an interrupted dribble?

...not disagreeing, just trying to learn something.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1