The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 10:22am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Why does the count start as soon as the ball reaches the backcourt?

I would think it wouldn't start until A2 touched it.

Team A had control, the ball was in the BC ===> the count starts.

[/B][/QUOTE]

So you're saying that if the ball is blocked directly out of the shooter's hand then team A retains control, but if the shooter releases the shot and then it is blocked, team A is not in control until they regain possession of the ball?

Just trying to get a clarification.

Is the same true in other situations such as deflecting a pass, knocking a ball away from a dribbler, or what about deflecting an interrupted dribble?

...not disagreeing, just trying to learn something.

Thanks [/B][/QUOTE]Coach, you establish player and team control at the same time- by gaining possesssion of the ball by holding or dribbling it. Iow, you retain that team control until you shoot, the ball becomes dead, or an opponent gets control. Under any other circumstances(passes, fumbles, knocked away by other team, etc.), you don't have player control but you still retain team control.

In the play above, the ball being blocked out of the shooter's hand isn't a loss of team control, just a loss of player control. If a shot leaves a player's hand however, player and team control are lost immediately- and control(player and team) cannot be established again until a player of either team again holds or dribbles the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2004, 10:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by coachz_216
Why does the count start as soon as the ball reaches the backcourt?

I would think it wouldn't start until A2 touched it.

Team A had control, the ball was in the BC ===> the count starts.

So you're saying that if the ball is blocked directly out of the shooter's hand then team A retains control, but if the shooter releases the shot and then it is blocked, team A is not in control until they regain possession of the ball?

Just trying to get a clarification.

Is the same true in other situations such as deflecting a pass, knocking a ball away from a dribbler, or what about deflecting an interrupted dribble?

...not disagreeing, just trying to learn something.

Thanks [/B][/QUOTE]Coach, you establish player and team control at the same time- by gaining possesssion of the ball by holding or dribbling it. Iow, you retain that team control until you shoot, the ball becomes dead, or an opponent gets control. Under any other circumstances(passes, fumbles, knocked away by other team, etc.), you don't have player control but you still retain team control.

In the play above, the ball being blocked out of the shooter's hand isn't a loss of team control, just a loss of player control. If a shot leaves a player's hand however, player and team control are lost immediately- and control(player and team) cannot be established again until a player of either team again holds or dribbles the ball. [/B][/QUOTE]

Thanks--
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1