Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
It does make me think about the possession to start the 3rd Quarter, though. If it had been done correctly, the offended team would receive the ball as part of the penalty on the T. But since the free throws were shot before the halftime intermission, and we know that no part of a penalty can carry over from one quarter to the next, I believe that the AP arrow now has to be used to start the 3rd Q.
|
|
No way, guys. The penalty for a technical includes possession in the NFHS. You don't disregard that simply b/c the first part of the penalty was administered incorrectly.
You're not carrying the penalty from one period to the next. Once the horn sounded, the 2nd quarter was over. So no part of the penalty was administered in the 2nd quarter. The intermission is not the same as the 2nd quarter, so the T is considered to be part of the 3rd quarter. So you award possession to the offended team, w/o going to the arrow.
[/B][/QUOTE]Agree with Chuck. According to rule 5-6-3, the restriction mentioned by Nevada above that "no part of a penalty carries over from one quarter to the next" ONLY applies to fouls that occur before the timer can stop the clock and the period ends, or fouls that occur after time expires but the ball is still alive. Ergo, this article isn't pertinent or applicable at all in this particular case. R5-6-4 is the applicable rule. Under this rule, the officials may have screwed up part of the timing of the FT's by administering them early, but they don't have any rules justification to compound that error by changing the possession part of the technical foul penalty.