Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
It does make me think about the possession to start the 3rd Quarter, though. If it had been done correctly, the offended team would receive the ball as part of the penalty on the T. But since the free throws were shot before the halftime intermission, and we know that no part of a penalty can carry over from one quarter to the next, I believe that the AP arrow now has to be used to start the 3rd Q.
|
Quote:
Originally posted by Boomer
As much as I would hate taking the ball from the offended team and going to the arrow, I have to agree with Nevedaref. I too think you must go to the arrow to start the second half.
|
No way, guys. The penalty for a technical includes possession in the NFHS. You don't disregard that simply b/c the first part of the penalty was administered incorrectly.
You're not carrying the penalty from one period to the next. Once the horn sounded, the 2nd quarter was over. So no part of the penalty was administered in the 2nd quarter. The intermission is not the same as the 2nd quarter, so the T is considered to be part of the 3rd quarter. So you award possession to the offended team, w/o going to the arrow.
Use Tony's example. Say you have a shooting foul followed by a T. The official accidentally shoots the FTs for the T first. (College official who never studies rules differences

) When they realize that they messed it up, should they let the ball stay live after the FTs for the personal? No, you still award possession, b/c it's part of the penalty for the T; even tho they messed up the first part of the penalty.
As always, just my opinion.