Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
is there a case play regarding the issue of shooting T FT's then bonus FT's (i.e., out of order) and not having to re-do them?
|
I don't think so, Mark, but what would be the rule basis for re-shooting them? They weren't unmerited; they weren't shot by the wrong player. . . They were just shot in the wrong order.
|
Chuck, You're better than that! There certainly is a Case Book play on this. It is 8.7 Situation B.
Also notice that the 2nd Quarter will begin with the AP according to this casebook play. Of course, in this play the AP arrow would have been used even if the free throws had been shot in the correct order, since the T occurred before A1's free-throws were shot and that makes it part of the 1st Quarter.
8.7 sit B also shows that JR's statement is not quite right:
"According to rule 5-6-3, the restriction mentioned by Nevada above that "no part of a penalty carries over from one quarter to the next" ONLY applies to fouls that occur before the timer can stop the clock and the period ends, or fouls that occur after time expires but the ball is still alive."
In 8.7 we have a live ball personal foul as time expires. Then after time has expired in the quarter, there is a DEAD ball technical foul. We know it occurred during a dead ball because the play says it was intentional contact and it is ruled a T.
The last sentence of the ruling, then, correctly states that the AP will be used to start the second quarter, as the restriction does apply here.
Lastly, I agree that the 2nd Quarter ended with the sounding of the horn in the original play, but I cannot see considering the FTs to have been shot in the 2nd half due to the fact that they were attempted BEFORE the intermission was taken and by rule the intermission occurs BETWEEN THE HALVES. I do think that the officials mistake must cost the team a possession. Sadly.