View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 17, 2004, 08:08am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
So let's assume we have a situation where the game is tied the 4th quarter ends and then a team receives a technical foul BEFORE the timer starts the one minute intermission. If the officials incorrectly administer the FTs before this intermission period takes place, should they be considered part of the 4th quarter or part of the OT? I think that if you took two attorneys and put them in front of a judge to argue what the Rules Book says about this, that the ruling would come down--the officials screwed up and the FTs now have to be considered part of the 4th quarter, so if either one of them is successful the game is over.

[/B]
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Did the technical foul above occur AFTER the fourth quarter ENDED? Yes, it sureashell did! You stated that was so above. When the 4th quarter ended, the ball automatically became dead because there wasn't any "related activity" involved. Case book play 5.6CommentB says "If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws...It also applies when the foul occurs after the second half has ended,provided the score is tied". That language fits your situation completely. Conversely, there is NO language anywhere in the rules that will support your position.

The judge's ruling is that you and your two lawyers are full of sh*t!

Nevada, the officials made an error of timimg by shooting the FT's at the start, instead of at the end, of an intermission. That was an official's error, NOT a correctible error. To give out an AP now would be simply making another official's error, but one that can also be corrected, if need be. I've given you the same response umpteen times on this play. I haven't seen anything quoted from the rules that would change my mind. Obviously, we don't agree on this play. Why don't we leave it that way.
[/B][/QUOTE]

I guess we will stay on opposing sides of this. Not a total loss, we do agree on the rule and the proper way to handle the play, what we don't agree upon is how to proceed once it has been screwed up. I do not believe that 5-6-4 or the Case Book play you quoted instructs us as what to do after the free throws have been shot at the wrong time. They both only tell us how it should be done if nothing gets screwed up. In the absence of a clear proceedure such as is outlined in 2-10 for fixing a correctable error or a Case Book play similar to 8.7 Sit B, which tells us how to treat these mistimed FTs, it will have to continue to be a difference of opinion.

I would like to point out though, that despite my asking a couple of times, you never did explicitly come out and say that you consider those mistimed FTs to have been attempted in the 3rd quarter. You only state over and over that they were attempted after the 2nd quarter ended. I guess I'll just have to interpret what you think from that.

[Edited by Nevadaref on Mar 17th, 2004 at 07:10 AM]
Reply With Quote