The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 04, 2003, 05:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,217
wsohl
The issue here is not pass vs shot - a pass from behind the arc is treated as a shot if it goes in. A shot or a pass that is legally deflected by B and then goes in the basket is a basket, and counts for the points it would have scored had it gone in from the initial shot without a touch by B. That is clear. So if B deflected A's attempted pass on it's way up, then the pass went in the goal, this play would be worth the 3 points A would have gotten had B never touched it.

If B touches A's pass on the way down but ball is still above the rim, the question is one of whether or not this constitutes goal tending. If it does constitue goaltending, you have three points for A. If it does not, then you have ruled that A's try had no chance to go in, and by rule the try ended. The basket is then due to B's tap, and that is worth 2 points only regardless of where it occurred on the court.

A shot or a pass (considered by rule to be a try) is no longer a try when it goes below the rim because it cannot go in the basket. Then any touching by B caused the inadvertent basket. B cannot have a try on goal, so B's touching in this circumstance results in two points.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1