Thread: 3? 2?
View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2003, 02:06pm
MN 3 Sport Ref MN 3 Sport Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 292
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust


A pass from the top of the key to the low block that get tapped upwards by the defender and subsequently goes in is 2.


Cameron:

You have stated right here the exact problem I have. 5.2.1 states A sucessful try , tap or thrown ball that does not touch the floor, a teammate, or official, from the field by a player who is located behind the team's 19-9 line counts 3 points.

The pass from the top of the key fits here and no-where does it state that the B players touching causes the ball to become a two point goal.

That is the problem I have w/ the wording of this rule.

Can we consider the touch by B scoring a field goal in the wrong basket? If so than 5.2.3 covers the loopehole by refering it back to the last part of 5.2.1 stating: ...anyother goal from the field counts 2 points for the team whos basket it is thrown.

This may be sufficient but there has to be better wording on the FEDS part.

[Edited by MN 3 Sport Ref on Dec 5th, 2003 at 01:10 PM]
Reply With Quote