Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Had my nap. Still disagree. 5.2.1SitC has to presume that the ball is still on the way up when it is legally touched. In the sitch posted,the ball was thrown from mid-court- which is the 42' mark in a high school gym. It's now legally touched just outside or inside the 3 point line- at least 21 feet away.
|
JR, here's the original play again. . .
Quote:
Play: Player A1 lobs a long pass from midcourt to A2 going to the basket. The pass was overthrown and close to the basket. In (A) B2 guarding A2 inside the 3pt arc swats at the ball and tips the ball into the basket! In (B) B2 ttouches the ball standing outside the 3pt arc. In both cases, the ball is legally touched (ie no Goal tend or BI)
|
In (A), the pass was touched near the basket. The pass was way overthrown and reached the basket. It wasn't touched near the 3-point arc. A2 is cutting to the basket for an "alley-oop", but B2 gets there first. So your interpretation of the play is off. It's just an accidental alley-oop play. Score 3 points.
In (B), I can see your point, but I was envisioning that B2 touched the ball as it was leaving A1's hands, trying to defend the long pass. Although now that I see what you're thinking, I can see that you might be reading better than I am, since B
2 is probably not guarding A
1.
But either way you read it, 5.2.1 says that
any thrown ball that starts outside the 3-point arc and goes in the basket counts for 3 points, as long as it doesn't touch the floor, an official, or a teammate of the thrower.
As ugly as it sounds, by rule I think situation (B) is a 3 point goal.