Thread: 3? 2?
View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2003, 01:44pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by MN 3 Sport Ref
It is obviously 2 if touched by a team A player (completed alley oop) This is understanding that the ball still had a chance of going in the hoop. Again officials judgement.

To be legally touched by a team A player on a completed alley-oop pass, the ball must have had NO chance of going in. Otherwise, if the ball had a chance of going in, it would be illegal touching and thus offensive GT. The ball is legally touched because the try ended when there was no possibility of the ball going in untouched. Of course,the supposition is that the ball is on the way down on the alley-oop.

That's the difference that we have been arguing. I just can't picture an alley-oop pass being legally touched on the way UP by a defender who is 20 feet away from where the pass originated.
Reply With Quote