Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Any thrown ball that starts out behind the 3-point arc counts for three if it goes in, as long as it doesn't touch the floor, an offical or a teammate of the thrower.
|
If it doesn't have a chance to go in, then that touching ends the shot.
|
But that should be irrelevant, JR. The fact that it's no longer a try does nothing to change the fact that it's still a thrown ball. And ANY thrown ball that starts out behind the arc and goes in is supposed to be 3 points unless touched by a teammate, the floor, or an official. That's what 5-2-1 says. Any thrown ball is 3 points if it starts out behind the arc.
However, 4.40.4B seems to say that's not true. You have a shot that falls short, bounces off an opponent and goes in, but it's only worth two. That's a thrown ball that started out behind the 3-point arc and went in without touching a teammate, the floor or an official. So what gives?
4.40.4B makes total sense. But it contradicts 5-2-1. Hmmmmm.
I'm honestly confused. Hope you enjoyed the walk.