Thread: 3? 2?
View Single Post
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 05, 2003, 10:40am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
[/B]
JR, here's the original play again. . .
Quote:
Play: Player A1 lobs a long pass from midcourt to A2 going to the basket. The pass was overthrown and close to the basket. In (A) B2 guarding A2 inside the 3pt arc swats at the ball and tips the ball into the basket! In (B) B2 ttouches the ball standing outside the 3pt arc. In both cases, the ball is legally touched (ie no Goal tend or BI)
In (A), the pass was touched near the basket. The pass was way overthrown and reached the basket. It wasn't touched near the 3-point arc. A2 is cutting to the basket for an "alley-oop", but B2 gets there first. So your interpretation of the play is off. It's just an accidental alley-oop play. Score 3 points.

[/B][/QUOTE]Chuck,I can see your point also,but.....

In both cases,you've got a defender and an offensive player on the floor at least 20 feet away from where the pass originated.How do you know that this was an "alley-oop" and the ball was still above the rim? Personally, I can't envision an "alley-oop" pass from 20 feet away that could still be on the way up. It has to still be on the way up, because the ball was legally touched by the defender.

Note that you can "legally" touch an alley-oop pass on the way down only if the pass does not have a chance to go in- i.e. it's then definitely not a shot. If it's not a shot, it always has to be a 2.
Reply With Quote