Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
If it's not a shot, it always has to be a 2.
|
Any thrown ball that starts out behind the 3-point arc counts for three if it goes in, as long as it doesn't touch the floor, an offical or a teammate of the thrower. Then read the case play that goes along with it, 5.2.1 Situation C. It has four different scenarios, so I'm going to edit it down a little.
|
Used the wrong verbiage. Shoulda said something like "it has to be a 2 because the shot/try/throw etc. has ended because it was certain the shot/try/tap etc. would be unsuccessful. Rule 4-40-4. If an alley-oop pass is on the way down, the only way that it can be legally touched is if the shot doesn't have a chance to go in. If it doesn't have a chance to go in, then that touching
ends the shot.That fits the language of R4-40-4, and also case book play 4.40.4SitB.
If someone throws an alley-oop pass from 20 ft. away that is still on the way up when a defender legally touches it, well...I wanna see the films!
You have 10 minutes to respond before I have go to eat my carrot and celery sticks, have my noon hour walk with my grand daughter, and lay down for my afternoon nappy.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 5th, 2003 at 10:43 AM]