The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2023, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Wait a minute?

Unlike a fumble, is this considered a dribble, and as such does the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule apply, thus no backcourt?

What if it was was a real un-intentional fumble (muff) after catching a pass, where the start of a dribble would normally be perfectly legal?

Would that also be considered a "dribble" (knowing that another (real) dribble would be legal?), and as such does the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule apply, thus no backcourt?

I understand that a fumble after one ends one's dribble would be backcourt because the "three points" (two feet and the ball) rule would not apply.
That is a dribble and thus not a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2023, 01:09pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
What's It Gonna Be Boy (Paradise By The Dashboard Light, Meat Loaf , 1977) ......

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
That is a dribble and thus not a violation.
Nevaderef: I'm not sure which question you're answering, the deliberate backspin after a pass caught situation, or the fumble (muff) after a pass caught situation?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2023, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nevaderef: I'm not sure which question you're answering, the deliberate backspin after a pass caught situation, or the fumble (muff) after a pass caught situation?
The deliberate throw with backspin meets the definition of a dribble.
A muff or fumble does not.

Hence, your Sit A is legal, while Sit B and Sit C are violations.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Feb 25, 2023 at 01:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2023, 01:29pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Situation A: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball then intentionally throws the ball across the plane of the division line with backspin such the ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The deliberate throw with backspin meets the definition of a dribble.
Agree.

"Three points" (two feet and the ball) rule applies, thus no backcourt.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 25, 2023, 01:33pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Backcourt ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Situation B: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in in A1's backcourt. A1 unintentionally muffs (without ever holding the ball) the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt. A1 then starts a dribble while in the backcourt.

Situation C: A1 receives a pass from a teammate while both are in A1's backcourt. A1 catches the ball and takes two dribbles and then holds the ball, all while still in the backourt. A1 then unintentionally fumbles the ball. The ball hits the floor in the frontcourt, and somehow bounces back toward A1, who catches the ball while A1 is still in his backcourt.

4-4-6: Ball Location: During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt.

Note: 4-4-6 says dribble, not fumble.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
... while Sit B and Sit C are violations.
Agree.

Because 4-4-6 is about a dribble, not a muff or fumble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Feb 25, 2023 at 01:47pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VIDEO REQUEST - Kicking Violation and 10 Second Violation - OU/WV -- January 16, 2016 WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 1 Sat Jan 16, 2016 06:36pm
Free Violation and Lane Violation Situation habram Basketball 3 Tue Dec 10, 2013 06:23pm
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1